Mon. June 5, 2017: Productive Writing Weekend

Monday, June 5, 2017
Waxing Moon
Saturn Retrograde
Rainy and cold

I finished the short radio play “Axe to Grind” and it goes out today. It always feels so good to finish something and get it out the door!

I read Patricia V. Davis’s COOKING FOR GHOSTS on the Kindle. I liked most of it. Liked the characters, the plot, the social justice issues woven into the narrative. The only thing that didn’t work for me, that kept me from giving it an all-out rave was the shifting POV. Head-hopping and POV shifts within scenes don’t work for me and take away, in my opinion, the focus. It dilutes the piece for me. If she’d kept consistent POVs in each scene, and moved the POV when the scene moved, this would make one of my favorite recent reads. But I’d read more of her work, and I’d like to read the next books in the trilogy.

Sent off the first assignment for my new editor. Expect I’ll have to do some revisions this week, since I am new to the publication, and I need to learn their system and their voice. Heard from a pitch to another publication — they will “eventually” get around to assigning me something. Well, sweetie, when you “get around to it”, I might be otherwise booked! You’re one of the lower-paying publications, and THIS was where I have the time in the schedule.

Revised three more chapters on FIX IT GIRL. These needed some major restructuring and plot changes, which is one reason it’s taken me a couple of weeks instead of a couple of days to revise them. But I’m happy with the result. The POV is more focused, it goes deeper, it’s more interesting, and the sloppy writing’s cut out. In other words, the point of the revision. I’m a little over 38K into the revision. I’d say I’m about half way through, maybe a little past it.

I went over the whole second half of the book, making restructuring notes, that will help as I work chapter-by-chapter. Also created the query template. When the revision is done and polished, I can pop in the word count, do the synopsis, and off it goes.

Got an idea last night for a new screenplay. Actually, I think it will be a four-hour mini-series. Odd fantasy piece, interesting for the portfolio. I outlined almost half, and I know where the end will be. I wrote the first 30 pages this morning.

I want to stay home and write, but there are errands to run and work to do. Better get to it. So I can come back and write.

Have a great week!

I can’t believe it’s June, and it’s so darn cold. Haven’t been able to sit on the deck much; it’s usually in the 40s and 50s. Still, better cool than hot.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://devonellington.wordpress.com/2017/06/06/mon-june-5-2017-productive-writing-weekend/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

