Fri. April 7, 2017: Working Out The Details for Revision

Friday, April 7, 2017
Waxing Moon
Venus Retrograde
Saturn Retrograde
As of Sunday, Mercury Retrograde

I simply cannot cope with all these retrogrades right now. Things are in too much of a fragile balance. ANYTHING tips, and it’s over.

Difficult week. Lots to juggle, bad weather.

Didn’t get much done on either NOT BY THE BOOK or POWER OF WORDS. Did a lot of research for FIX-IT GIRL. Went over the whole manuscript again. The first two thirds are in pretty good shape, minor tweaking. Some major decisions about how far Mavis takes her relationships with both Arnie and Troy in the book. What is realistic for the time and the place? What is organic to her character? That decision is going to have an enormous impact on the next draft. I think I’m NOT going to add another hundred pages. I like where the book ends, on the train headed east. It wraps up a lot of plot and story. It gives Mavis the chance of an HFN (although it’s not a romance, merely has romantic elements). I like that stopping point. I think my original instinct, to have the FIX-IT GIRL be in Hollywood, and then a second book, set in New York and London, makes more sense. But FIX-IT can stand alone. There’s some good, solid writing in there, and it’s nice to have a book that’s leaner than some of the stuff I’ve written lately.

Some of the research I’m doing on the studio system also serves POWER OF WORDS, with the fictional studio set up outside of Vancouver, but with a modern twist.

The country continues to be dismantled, thanks to the Narcissistic Sociopath and his corrupt cabinet and the corruption of Mitch McConnell and Paul Ryan. A group of horrid individuals, who should all be prosecuted for treason and failure to uphold their sworn oaths to the Constitution.

I just cut a section of rant on a particular topic, because it’s not appropriate for this arena, and make more sense as a separate article. I need to do some fact checking and source research, but we’ll see where that goes.

I have a lot to get done this morning before I can get back to the page, including getting a good bit done on spring cleaning. It looks like we might have some dry weather this weekend, so maybe I can even get started on yard work.

Have a great weekend! Buckle up for Saturn and Mercury tandem retrogrades! And a full moon next week.

I’d like to just curl up in a fetal position and stay there until it’s all done, but that’s not an option.

Published in: on April 7, 2017 at 9:49 am  Comments Off on Fri. April 7, 2017: Working Out The Details for Revision  
