Mon. Jan. 30, 2017: Political and Personal and Art

Monday, January 30, 2017
Waxing Moon
Cloudy and cold

Busy weekend, a lot of it political. Although, within it all, I got some writing done.

The Unconstitutional, poorly thought out “travel ban” that went into effect late on Friday was the primary cause of it, along with removing legitimate security officials from the National Security Council to install an unqualified, unvetted white supremacist. Lots of activism, and thank you to the Federal judges who actually understand and uphold the law.

Every Senator and Representative who remained silent needs to be removed from office next year. The ACLU got five to six times more in donations this weekend than they typically get in a year. Better them than the DNC, in my opinion. The candidates need to start earning their keep before I give any money to them. Hopefully, we will see some contentious primaries and get some of these cowards out.

Ironically enough, I was re-reading the Constitution in preparation for today’s start of the Constitutional Law class. The Executive and Legislative Branches are not only ignoring it, they are using it as toilet paper.

I’ve also taken note of those, who, right after the election, kept insisting that even though they voted for the Sociopath, they were “good” people and would be the “first” to stand up if he violated the Constitution, yet remained silent this weekend. Duly noted. You didn’t stand and you won’t stand. Because you agree. Also duly noted.

I got nearly thirty pages written on one project. Too bad it wasn’t one of the ones I was supposed to be working on! But it felt good, to get back into the groove. Got some work on the short story due on Wednesday, although I didn’t finish it, and will have to so do today.

Worked on contest entries, finished re-reading POSSESSION, which remains one of my favorite books.

Waiting to hear back on two contract negotiations. Got a request for a meeting on another project that I’m hoping to set up later this week. Got an email from someone with whose company I parted on less-than-stellar terms who wants to know if I want to come back for the summer. Wondering what the ulterior motive is — we were relieved to be parted.

SAG Awards last night, and it was a lively night. I’m getting sick of those who try to demean or diminish artists for speaking out. Having spent most of my professional life working in the arts, most artists are intelligent, thoughtful, have a strong sense of justice, curious, and, in the course of researching their work — informed. The artists I’ve worked with, on the whole, have been much smarter than the non-artists I’ve worked with. Yet non-artists are quick to try to bully, condemn, and censor artists. All that does is show the lesser character of those non-artists.

Because genuine artists are the ones who change the world. And theatre, in particular, started out in Greece as a form of politics.

Speaking of artists making a difference, I’m re-reading Vaclav Havel’s THE ART OF THE IMPOSSIBLE: Politics and Morality in Practice.

One of my neighbors built a section of fence to block off his patio area from the street. Good for him, I have no problem with that. Privacy is important. Unfortunately, it’s one of the ugliest structures I’ve seen in a long time. It’s especially noticeable to me right now because, this weekend, I was researching different types of walls, fences, and gates for one of my novels, and designing something beautiful. Synchronicity!

The Constitutional Law class begins today. I’m excited and a bit apprehensive. I hope I can do the work. I really like my professor, who’s both soft-spoken and passionate about his topic.

I have to set up some appointments, and some places for appointments, so I’ll have some running around to do.

Another week, and Imbolic is only a few days away! First planting!

Onward.

Published in: on January 30, 2017 at 10:06 am  Comments Off on Mon. Jan. 30, 2017: Political and Personal and Art  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
