Tues. Jan. 24, 2017: Piling More on the Plate

Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Waning Moon
Rainy and mild

Yesterday was a busy day. I had contract negotiations on two different projects, admin work, a couple of hours’ work with the staffs of my elected officials, preparation for this afternoon’s meeting, writing (which did not go well), and research into both Italian Renaissance painting and 1930s fashion.

On top of that, I applied to and was accepted by, a Yale-based course in Constitutional Law, which starts next week. I want to be prepared. People are waving around the Constitution, but most of them haven’t read it. I studied it in school, but that was a while ago, and I want to learn the legalities. I received my orientation package, and made arrangements with the local library so I can study and do research there during open hours. It’s at least fifteen hours a week, and I’m sure it will kick my ass, but I think it will be worth it.

The local news mentioned that more people died in the tornadoes that hit this country this weekend than in all of last year. The only other information I could find on the tornadoes was on CNN, which confirmed that. I finally managed to get onto the Red Cross website to find out that they are on the ground, and donations can be made through their site, but I had to hunt for the information.

Why isn’t this being reported? More importantly, what kind of federal aid is being sent? Why is the White House continuing to whine and push false inauguration numbers while people are dying or have lost everything and need help? There should have been a strong message of support and comfort and promise of aid out of the Oval Office as soon as it happened.

I’m not surprised that there wasn’t, but there should have been.

More contract negotiations today, and more work with elected officials before I head off Cape for my meeting. I’m hoping to sneak in some writing.

If one of these contracts actually comes through, not only will I have a tight contract schedule on the book that’s being negotiated, I have to make the next book in the series a priority. That will mean re-arranging the year’s manuscript schedule. I hate being in a holding pattern, but the contract that was offered was against all of my interests in so many ways, I can’t believe it was actually offered. But that’s why I have an agent, a lawyer, and the Authors Guild.

The press release about the new play goes out today. That should be fun.

Meanwhile, I have a short story to finish and get out this week!

One Comment

  1. About those Constitution wavers: They were passing around “News” and getting all in a kafuffle about Obama repealing the 28th amendment so that he could do all sorts of things. Only… there are 27 amendments. Putzes.

    I don’t know that knowing more about the Constitution can save idiots from themselves. But it does sound like a fascinating course. Have fun with it!


Comments are closed.

