Wed. Jan. 11, 2017: Steady Writing

Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Day Before Full Moon
Sunny and mild

I finally had a better writing day yesterday, although I wouldn’t call it a “good” one. I did a good day’s work on SONGBOUND SISTERS, though. I’m getting back into the protagonist’s soul. It’s slow, but it’s getting there.

I’m still struggling with NOT BY THE BOOK. I did some research for a potential play I’m debating on whether or not I should do; I’m interested, but I’m a little commitment-shy right now. I looked at what I’d written so far on the new pilot, and it’s solid. I have to decide the direction I want for the rest of it. Looked back at another pilot I wrote last year; wondering if it needs a little tweaking.

So it was a decent, if not a brilliant, writing day.

Kept track of the Senate hearings on Jeff Sessions, who is I believe is unfit to be Attorney General. My elected officials know how I feel; all I can do is trust them to do the right thing. Some of the others involved in the decision? Not so much.

Started re-watching THE WEST WING last night, because I’ll take a fictional president who has intelligence, heart, courage, and ethics over a reality celebutard any day.

On a creative level, I love ensemble casts. Shows that are nothing more than a “vehicle” for one particular actor usually bore me. Especially if the show is named for the actor in the lead role, who is playing a character with the same name. Ick. To me, it shows a lack of imagination.

I’m not even going to comment on the latest disgusting rumors surrounding Swamp Thing Elect. But if there’s actual treason at the root of it, something better be done about it, instead of this constant shrugging and turning the other way on the part of Congress and law enforcement.

The genuine President’s Farewell Address last night was a reminder of what we’re losing: a man with dignity, ethics, intelligent, heart, and class. Have I agreed with all his positions over the past eight years? Absolutely not. In fact, I’ve been frustrated because I felt he was too conciliatory most of the time. But he was always someone I could respect.

Errands to run today, trying to get things done between the storms. Last night’s rain got rid of a good portion of the snow pack. We have more rain coming. It’s supposed to be in the 50s today and tomorrow — far too warm for this time of year. I have a feeling there will be a lot of illness with the fluctuating temperatures.

I’m hoping for another good day on SONGBOUND SISTERS, and maybe NOT BY THE BOOK. I’m way behind on the latter.

The first batch of books for contest judging arrived last night. I have to sort them (I’m doing mystery, fantasy, and novella again), and then get down to it. It’s much better to have them come in batches, because then I can give each one more attention.

I’m reading THINGS I LEARNED WHILE TALKING TO MYSELF by Alan Alda. What a terrific book, especially in these dark times. He reminds me of issues I’d forgotten in the 80s and 90s, things that upset us then. I wish there were young actors coming up with the commitment to both art and justice that people like Alan Alda and Meryl Streep have. Emma Watson is really the only one I can think of.

Off to try and have a creative, productive, positive day.

Published in: on January 11, 2017 at 11:56 am  Comments Off on Wed. Jan. 11, 2017: Steady Writing  
Tags: , , , , , ,
