Thurs. Dec. 1, 2016: Keeping on Top of Writing Deadlines

Thursday, December 01, 2016
Waxing Moon
Sunny and pleasant

Most of this week is spent at the JFK Museum for Spectacle of Trees. As usual, it’s a lot of fun, and a great community-building experience. The party is tonight – I’m wearing the Calvin Klein dress I bought earlier this week.

Writing-wise, there are now four novels out on submission, so I’m getting caught up on that. I have to finish the last scene of the 14th century pirate play, do another pass, and that goes out next week. I’d hoped to get it out this week, but that’s not happening. It’s not due until the end of the month, so I’m fine.

Then, I immediately switch back to the play JUST A DROP, to finish that, and get it out by the end of the month.

I’m juggling MURDER OF A MELANCHOLIC and will shortly add THE FIX-IT GIRL to the WIP queue. I have to get back to SONGBOUND SISTERS, but I’m not sure when. I’ve misplaced the notes, and I’d been pretty specific about where I wanted to go with it, so I don’t want to start over.

I’m working on the short story for the anthology that’s due at the end of the month. I’m worried it’s going to be too dark for the collection, but I won’t know until I’m further in to it.

Anything that doesn’t go out on submission by December 12 can’t go out until the new year, (except for the pieces with the December 31st deadline). I think I’m in decent shape for all of it.

It’s good to be so deep in the writing, but skipping National Novel Writing Month was the correct choice. Quality was key for November – if I couldn’t focus on the quality, no matter how long it took, rather than a set word count each day, I would be up the creek, no paddle.

There’s no point In submitting something that’s not ready for submission.

I still managed 1K or more almost every day, so I’m happy with that, but some projects I’d hoped to be further along on fell by the wayside due to contracted projects. I will pick those back up as soon as the plays and the short story go out.

FIX-IT GIRL only needs another 100 pages or so to be a complete draft, and then I can figure out how I want to change it and if I want to go even more noir with it. That’s my instinct.

The world may be falling apart, but at least I’m getting some creative work done. Eventually, I’ll figure out how to encompass the anger and despair at the country’s situation into art; right now, I need to focus on what pulls most strongly – and what has the earliest deadline!

If I don’t get a chance to check in tomorrow, have a great weekend!

Don’t forget, I’m doing the Get Your Jingle On Party on December 17th at 1 PM, over on Facebook. I’m giving away a signed set of HEX BREAKER and OLD-FASHIONED DETECTIVE WORK, the first two Jain Lazarus novels, to one lucky winner. I’ll also have a coupon for a holiday story digital download for anyone who comes to the event. It’s a Facebook Event, and I’ll post a link closer to the day.

Devon

Published in: on December 1, 2016 at 10:32 am  Comments Off on Thurs. Dec. 1, 2016: Keeping on Top of Writing Deadlines  
Tags: , , , , ,
