Thurs. June 9, 2016: Split Focus

Thursday, June 09, 2016
Waxing Moon
Mars Retrograde
Cloudy and cool

Yesterday was a long day, but it was fine. Books, DVDs, serials to process, PR for upcoming events, backing up the front desk, all that good stuff.

I wrote on my lunch break (I don’t usually do that here). Not much, but it settled me.

Exhausted when I got home, had practical things to deal with. Didn’t sleep well – too many scenes running through my head.

Bad writing morning – as in, couldn’t make the scene work. Boring as crap – will have to toss it and start over. It happens sometimes. I hate writing when I have to be aware of the time and being somewhere else at X time.

Some people like to write in short spurts. My best work is done when I have periods of uninterrupted, unstructured time.

Heard from another old friend from college – again, someone so important to my creative development. It was good to hear from him.

Got the details of my July adventure sorted out – looking forward to it.

Reading a book by an author where I’ve read a good deal of her work and find it hit and miss. This newest book, in my opinion, is a miss. Interesting premise, poor execution.

Got everything organized for next Monday’s board meeting at the Marine Life Center.

Looking forward to hearing how the performances of the radio play went. Looking forward even more to hearing it!

Today will be another long day; hard to focus with the book calling me. So I guess I’ll be up pretty late tonight, getting down what’s formulating in my head during the day.

Devon

Published in: on June 9, 2016 at 8:43 am  Comments Off on Thurs. June 9, 2016: Split Focus  
Tags:
