Wed. April 6, 2016: April Snow Showers

Wednesday, April 06, 2016
Dark Moon
Jupiter Retrograde
Sunny and cool

Busy weekend. Ran errands, dealt with two snowstorms.

Trivia Night was fun last Friday night. I really had no idea what to expect. It was a long day, but a fun evening.

Saturday night was the artist reception for the “Unsafe” exhibit at Cotuit Center for the Arts. Since I had a piece in it, I went. They even gave me a tag that said, “Artist”. Lovely support for my first venture into new territory. They had a nice spread out, wine by Centerville Package Store (where I usually buy my wine), a good talkback.

For some reason, I feel much more exposed with an art piece than I do with writing. Maybe because I’m newer at it?

The other pieces in the exhibit are each unique and powerful, and they were curated beautifully. I’m honored to be a part of it.

I wanted to go to Julian Cyr’s campaign kick-off in Truro on Sunday morning, but the weather was so miserable I wasn’t about to drive in it. By the time I found out he had an event that evening in Hyannis, it was too late to get there.

I wish there would be good weather on my days away from the library so I could get some yard work done!

The bulk of the weekend was spent on contest entries. I’m through all the print copies in one category, have three more in a second category, another stack in a third, and then I have the ebooks. One category’s entries are very strong; another is varied, as usual; the third category has gotten weaker every year. I’m also surprised and disheartened by how many books lack a point of view. That doesn’t make them “cinematic”. It makes them lose the reader.

The five Ginny Gordon mysteries arrived – very quick response time! I read all of them – unfortunately one of them has pages torn out – as background for Nonfiction #2. I did some background work on Nonfiction #1. I also did some work on the mystery set against a summer rep company – the contemporary one, not the vintage one. And got an idea for a novel I’ll set throughout the UK, but with the bulk of it in Northumbria and Scotland.

Monday was more snow, so stayed tucked in and worked on contest entries. Tuesday was all about running errands and then back to the entries.

This will be a long week at work (four days this week), working on entries and other writing around it.

It’s interesting to see how the two nonfiction pieces are shaping. I’m concentrating on the material first. I have a vague idea of how I want to shape it, but I’m letting the material lead.
I’m letting SONGBOUND percolate a bit more, and I’m reworking some of “Just a Drop.” “Broken Links” is about to go into auditions, so that is exciting.

I’m looking forward to my upcoming vacation in early May.

Devon

Published in: on April 6, 2016 at 1:04 pm  Comments Off on Wed. April 6, 2016: April Snow Showers  
