Wed. March 16: Exciting News

Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Waxing Moon
Jupiter Retrograde
Foggy and cold

What a whirlwind the past few days have been!

Some big news, on several fronts:

First and foremost, I finished the first draft of DEATH OF A CHOLERIC last night. Technically, it was at 12:57 this morning, but since I hadn’t been to bed, I called it last night! 😉

I’m thrilled to have the draft done. I have some notes to make on changes I already know need to be made in the revisions, and then it goes away to marinate for about a month, so I can approach the revisions with a fresh eye.

The wonderful and slightly scary news is that a mixed media piece I worked on for a couple of months in early winter was submitted and accepted to an art show at Cotuit Center for the Arts for their exhibit “Unsafe”, about life post-9/11. I wish my uncles, who were artists were still alive; they would be proud.

If anything, working on it taught me how much I still have to learn about that craft of that particular medium! I liked working in it, though, and I want to learn –and do – more. I have to drop off the piece next Monday.

I’m also doing some campaign writing for someone who I think will be terrific in his job.

Today will be a long day at work, because we are woefully short-staffed. I’m leaving early, because I’m speaking tonight at the Cape Cod Writers Center Writers Night Out on Point of View.

The next primary focus is the first draft of the play set in 17th Century Italy – I hope to get a good push on that in the next couple of days. I want to finish the draft by the end of the month.

And, in a few days, I dive into the next first draft of the next novel – which is SONGBOUND SISTERS.

I have to take my mom in for some tests tomorrow at the hospital – I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it’s nothing serious. I’d like everything to remain on a positive trajectory!

Devon

2 Comments

  1. I’m hoping all went well with your mom’s tests.

    Sounds like you’re quite busy! Same here. I had one week of slow time to three weeks of break-neck deadlines. I’m still trying to find ways to space those, but many were unavoidably short deadlines.

    • Yup, and I’m always stumbling around the week after we “spring forward.”


Comments are closed.

