Sat. March 12, 2016: Post-Birthday Writing

Saturday, March 12, 2016
Waxing Moon
Jupiter Retrograde
Sunny and gorgeous

Thanks for all the birthday wishes yesterday, everyone! I had a good day. I didn’t do much. I’d hoped to do some yard work, but the weather didn’t clear up until too late in the day for me to be productive.

I ate and read and ran some errands. I worked on DEATH OF A CHOLERIC – I’ll have the first draft finished by the 15th. Then it can marinate for awhile, while I work on the play and get to work on SONGBOUND SISTERS. I’ve definitely decided to flip it with TIE-CUTTER. I’m making notes on the major changes I have to handle in the edits, to fix the big logistical problem that led to several smaller problems in the manuscript, so when I officially start edits in a month or so, I will have everything set and can dig in.  I have a working title for the new play, which is always exciting.  The right title helps focus.

Three months is really too tight a timeframe for a first draft, unless I can spent 10 or so hours a day at the desk, and am not juggling multiple projects.. Four months makes for a stronger manuscript.

I was going to bake for today’s Caroline Kepnes author event, but she’s ill and had to cancel. It’s been rescheduled for next Saturday, so I’ll bake then.

I basically just chilled out. Ate too much cake! 😉 Did a lot of yoga.

When I get home after locking up today, I’ll get back to work on the book, and do my final push tomorrow and Monday. Monday, I have to be up extra early, because I have a Marine Life Center Board meeting, but when I come home, it’ll be that final stretch so I can write “The End.” It’s so close, I can taste it!

It’s a gorgeous day outside. It’ll be too late to do yard work when I get home, but I hope I can sit outside and enjoy it a bit.

Some black locust has invaded the side front yard, in front of the dogwood. As soon as the ground is mushy enough, I’m going to have to yank all of it out, and put in wildflowers and other plants that will attract bees and butterflies.

Looking forward to spring! This winter hasn’t been bad, especially not compared to last winter, but I’m still ready for it to be over. Hate losing an hour of sleep to “spring forward” tonight, though.

Have a great weekend!

Devon

Published in: on March 12, 2016 at 10:36 am  Comments Off on Sat. March 12, 2016: Post-Birthday Writing  
Tags: , , , , , ,
