Fri. Feb. 26, 2016: Changes to the Freelance Work

Friday, February 26, 2016
Waning Moon
Jupiter Retrograde
Sunny and cold

Yesterday seemed longer than it was, although that was mostly because I’m tired.

Over the past few days, I’ve updated both the Fearless Ink and the Devon Ellington Work websites. I decided that I’m no longer going to take on private editing clients, unless I’m hired by the publisher. I’m going to finish up the contracts I have, but enough already.

First and foremost, I need to spend that time on my own work. Every minute I work on something by someone else is time taken away from my own work that I can never get back. In my experience, the bulk of the editing clients: don’t want to pay a fair rate for the work they want done; have no interest in learning craft; don’t meet deadlines; book time and then don’t send in their material, which means I’ve turned down other paying work, and then I’m short. Not every editing client has been like that, and I’ve had some wonderful, exciting stuff to work on over the years, but the bulk of them have fitted into one or more of the above. When I accepted editing work from a publishing house, the work has already been vetted, so there’s at least some craft involved, they are as committed to the schedule as I am, they understand this is a business and not a hobby, and they pay on time. All around, it makes more sense.

Plus, I’m getting more script work and more marketing writing work, and I enjoy it more. So that’s what I’m focusing on. I’ll teach workshops if I’m brought in by an organization and paid in proportion to what I’m teaching, paid a deposit, paid the balance on the final day of the class (not this 30 days after crap), and, if necessary, paid a cancellation fee if they can’t fill the class. I’m happy to develop custom workshops for organizations, but there’s a fee involved.

And if you’re not going to pay an appropriate rate for my work – you don’t get it. I will take my work elsewhere.

Setting those boundaries has removed lots of stress from my life, and I feel much better moving forward. This is a business, not a hobby. I don’t have to accept any and every offer that comes down the pike.

The Freelancers Union motto: “Freelance isn’t free.”

Today will be another long day. I’m going to the opening of an acquaintance’s exhibit this evening, which will be fun. I’m in tomorrow, and then it’s heavy duty studio time. On Sunday, I’m going to a meet-and-greet of a fellow NYU alum who is running for state Senate. But the bulk of the weekend has to be studio time, to get this project in under deadline, and then back to DEATH OF A CHOLERIC, which won’t be finished by Monday, but I hope to finish by the following weekend, because TIE-CUTTER has to get back into the mix and finished, too. I’m very eager to get back to SONGBOUND SISTERS, and am taking notes. I also have to finish the first draft of the play.

And do things like my taxes.

Busy times ahead!

Have a great weekend.

Published in: on February 26, 2016 at 9:57 am  Comments Off on Fri. Feb. 26, 2016: Changes to the Freelance Work  
Tags: , , , , , ,
