Fri. Feb. 19, 2016: In the Blissful Stage of Book Writing

Friday, February 20, 2016
Waxing Moon
Cloudy and cool

Busy day at the library. Well, patron-wise, it was quiet, but I was busy. I had books to process and proposals to write and press to prepare.

I was also thinking about the book, in and around everything else, and couldn’t wait to get back to it in the evening. I don’t usually write at night, unless I’ve missed my morning writing session, but I’m at the point in the book where I want to spend as much time as possible with it every day.  I love this phase of it.  I actually love the physical writing of a book.  Yes, “having written” is satisfying, but it’s far more satisfying to actually write.

The work last night wasn’t stellar (I was too tired), but it did get me moving forward. I woke up early, again, eager to get back to the book. The layering sometimes feels like I’ve stalled the forward momentum, but it’s vital to the last portion of the book. I’m setting in both the actual clues and the red herrings better, giving my murderer a clearer introduction (not the murder part, but who this individual is), and introducing another character who is vital to the arc that will go through several books.

Today will be a long day, and then I have a boat-load of work over the weekend, including cleaning the house for my guest, and putting in enough studio time to finish my project. That has to be finished and photographed and sent next week.

I can’t believe it’s nearly March. This year is already flying past!

Published in: on February 19, 2016 at 9:24 am  Comments Off on Fri. Feb. 19, 2016: In the Blissful Stage of Book Writing  
