Thurs. Feb. 18, 2016: Post Luau

Thursday, February 18, 2016

Waxing Moon

Sunny and cold

 

Busy day yesterday. Up at 5, finishing the food for the luau.

 

Worked on the mystery, layering in a better set-up for my murderer. I made some decisions, with an eye to future volumes, that shift what I set up here.

 

Arrived early at the library. Helped set up. It looked beautiful!

 

The day, however, was the first nice day we’ve had in a long time, and people were busy being out and about, instead of coming in to the library. Last year, when we squeezed the luau in between snow storms, we had a lot of people in during the course of the day.

 

We watched the first episode of SHE-WOLVES: EARLY QUEENS OF ENGLAND for Masterpiece. It was fascinating. It reminded me that Margaret Frazer wrote a series of mysteries set in the time where Stephen and Matilda were in dispute. We’re going to meet next week again, to watch the second episode, so I’ve ordered some of the books for the others to look at. I liked the Dame Frevisse series, but it was the Joliffe books, about Players, that I truly loved. I went to the author’s website and was saddened to learn she died in 2013.

 

Amazon had some Billie Bradley and Betty Gordon books available for free (two more juvenile mystery series). I haven’t read them, so I downloaded them. I want to re-read the Beverly Gray, Judy Bolton, etc. again. Some of it is background research for the piece that starts in the 1920s, but I think, somewhere is the germ of something I have to say about it all. Probably not as well as Bobbie Ann Mason, but still . . .

 

Got out a short story. Have to figure out how and where I can work on upcoming short stories that are on deadline.

 

Rights Reversion Letters arrived from Amber Quill. They did a lovely, professional job, something that will help me place the books elsewhere.

 

Home exhausted. Didn’t sleep well. Hoping to get some work done on the mystery this morning before I leave.

 

I need a lot of studio time this weekend, because I need to finish my project and photograph it. If everything works as it should, a friend is coming to visit early next week. I want to get my studio project done before then, and I don’t want to lose momentum on the book.

 

And, of course, I have to do things like clean the house!

 

 

Published in: on February 18, 2016 at 9:13 am  Comments Off on Thurs. Feb. 18, 2016: Post Luau  
