Thurs. Dec. 3, 2015: Running on Fumes

Thursday, December 03, 2015
Waning Moon
Foggy and mild

Thank Goodness I finished Nano before Thanksgiving, or I’d have had a nervous breakdown!

Thanksgiving was good – we stayed in Ogonquit, even got to walk the beach, and then headed up to Gray for the dinner with 46 people – none of whom are Trump supporters, thank goodness.

The hotel was lovely, we managed to avoid traffic, and, all in all, had a terrific time.

The cats were upset – they still miss Violet, and I think they were worried we weren’t coming back. A good part of the weekend was spent soothing them.

The Saturday after Thanksgiving was my Saturday “on” at work, so that was busy. Sunday, I was trying to get the decorating going – I’d started Friday, and was just too tired on Saturday after work to get anything done.

Monday, we hit Spectacle of Trees flat out. Loaded up the car at the library, headed over to the JFK Museum. Bounced between helping with the library tree and the Marine Life Center tree – although, to give credit where credit is due, I didn’t do much on the Marine Life Center tree. They had it down!

Ran some errands for the trees, came home, tried to get some decorating done. If I never see another twinkle light, it will be too soon. Well, until next year, anyway!

First thing Tuesday was a dump run, and then over to the museum to consult on the tree before heading to yet another funeral – for the mother of a fellow NMLC Board member. Several of us went together. It was a lovely service, with beautiful, fun remembrances by family members.

Then, I headed to Target, running more errands for Spectacle – and back to the museum to drop things off.

Home for a quick bite, then took my mother to the knitting group, where she had a good time, while I tried to get some other work done –Including fighting with TMobile. The card I bought to refill the phone couldn’t be read – the PIN was too faint – and they didn’t want to credit me, although I had both the serial number from the card and the activation code from the purchase site. It took over an hour to get it sorted out, and then it was a mess again the next morning, and I had to fight again. I’m tired of these customer service reps who lie when they get tired of dealing with a situation. Fix the damn problem, or pass me on to a supervisor, as you are required to do BY LAW. Too bad you’re outsourced elsewhere – you have to abide by US LAW.

I bought this phone when my TMobile phone died because I could switch carriers, so that’s what I’ll do in January. Fresh start for the new year.

Wednesday morning, dropped off both wreaths for tonight’s VIP Reception at the Hyannisport Club. Then headed to the JFK Museum, helped fluff both trees. We had lunch at the British Beer Company – surprisingly good – and back to work, where we were exhausted. The adrenalin faded, and we were melting over the furniture. There was a Development Committee meeting until the end of the day, but we were all fried by then.

Home. Baked the gingerbread and the lemon tea cakes for today’s Victorian Tea. Dinner, and to bed early. Baked scones this morning and hit the ground running – four events today. Just thinking about it makes me tired.

Hope you’re enjoying the holiday season!

Devon

Published in: on December 3, 2015 at 11:37 am  Comments Off on Thurs. Dec. 3, 2015: Running on Fumes  
Tags: , , ,
