Nano 30 Tips for 30 Days: Day 20: Keep Going

Keep writing. Keep working. If you’re at a point where you don’t want to put words on paper and are terribly far behind, work on something else. The important thing is to keep writing.

Being a writer is not about doing it when you feel like it. It’s about doing it.

A writing colleague commented on a blog the other day, “You don’t feel like writing? Boo fucking hoo.” And that about sums it up.

Some days, it’s a bit harder to sit down and do the pages each day. However, once I got past the first half page or so, I fell back into the world of my story, and it gets easier and easier with every paragraph. If I can push through the first 400 words, I can find my rhythm and make it to the 1000 or 1500 or whatever my goal is for that day. So, push through the initial resistance and keep going.

We’re in the final ten days. We’re tired. We don’t know how we can reach the finish line. Time to make like a hockey player and dig deeper.

Come Write In! at the Marstons Mills Public Library, 2160 Main St., Marstons Mills.
Tuesdays 11-1 and Thursdays 2-4, during November

Published in: on November 20, 2015 at 5:01 am  Comments Off on Nano 30 Tips for 30 Days: Day 20: Keep Going  
