Nano 30 Tips for 30 Days: Day 14: Priorities/Reality Check

A few years ago, when I still worked on Broadway, the first week I started a new book, a colleague of mine at the theatre was diagnosed with liver cancer and given two weeks to live. He died during my second week of the book. I found out right after I finished my Nano pages for the day. He was only 48, and the theatre is a dimmer place without him. Another year, I was frantically trying to finish a novel as my grandmother was dying. Yet another year, I was in the middle of a book and of teaching commitments and had to pack up 38 years’ worth of my family history to move to another state.

It was hard, and there were times when I thought I would shatter, but I kept writing.

When mortality slaps you in the face, you reassess. You have to figure out what your priorities are, and what you need to do to keep them in the forefront.

Writing is my priority, and, therefore, I plan my life to support the writing, not the other way around. If it doesn’t add to my life in a way that makes me a better writer, and allows me to use my best energy of the day for writing, it’s eliminated.

There will be times when you have to put the writing aside to deal with a life issue. Make sure it’s a choice, and you don’t just let it slide. There will be times when life is tough, and yet, if you drop into the work for a few hours, it will give you the energy you need to handle the stress of the rest of the day.

Every person must answer the question for himself, and sometimes, over the course of time, the answer changes. But knowing how important the work is to you helps you get it done.

Some days start rough, but then flow. At the end of the chapter, I was ready to go on.

Happy writing! And even if you’re behind where you think you should be, don’t get discouraged. Just do as much as you can. Every day.

Come Write In! at Marstons Mills Public Library, 2160 Main St., Marstons Mills
Tuesdays 11-1, Thursdays 2-4 during November.

Published in: on November 14, 2015 at 5:48 am  Comments Off on Nano 30 Tips for 30 Days: Day 14: Priorities/Reality Check  
