Nano 30 Tips for 30 Days: Day 13: Working Beyond the Month

I write the 1000 words/day on what I call my “Primary Project” – the piece that needs the bulk of my attention – each morning before I start my day.

If it’s flowing well, I’ll keep going until I’m written out for the day. If it’s a struggle, I’ll stop at 1000 –but I’ve met my goal for the day.

If I have to be somewhere at a certain time, I get up a little earlier to make my quota. If it’s a tough day and I don’t, then I add in another writing session at night. Even if I’m tired. So I’m tired? So what?

We all write for different reasons. This is my life’s work, my vocation as well as my passion – so I need to develop techniques to get the work done even on the bad days.

There’s nothing wrong with being an occasional writer. You’ll have a different type of career then, that’s all. There’s nothing wrong with not having this as your career. But, if you want it badly, the way I do, you make it happen, you don’t wait for it to happen

What is your goal for your work outside this month?

What are you learning about yourself and your process?

These are important questions, and the answers can carry you far beyond the days in this month. The answers may change throughout your writing life, and that’s okay, too, but you need to re-ask them every time you sit down to write a book.

Is this book worth the next X months of my life?

Only you have the answer.

Come Write in! at Marstons Mills Public Library, 2160 Main St., Marstons Mills.
Tuesdays 11-1, Thursdays 2-4 during November.

Published in: on November 13, 2015 at 5:45 am  Comments Off on Nano 30 Tips for 30 Days: Day 13: Working Beyond the Month  
