Nano 30 Tips for 30 Days: Day 12: Stuck

I didn’t want to today.

I did not want to get my butt in that chair and work on my novel.

I slept in. I barely had enough coffee to make one big Nano-cup. I was still full of yesterday’s playfulness (and the 52 books I bought at the second hand bookstore).

I didn’t want to.

The first 113 words were such a slog, I thought I was going to have to sit there until midnight.

And then, pushing on, it got easier and easier.

In the book mentioned in yesterday’s post (from a previous nano), there was the argument I left the characters in yesterday to resolve, the tension to rise between them, the attraction rising, and then an action scene with an attacker. So there was plenty to do.

Today, I set up for a bit of B-line story in the next chapter or two.

The bulk of the action of the novel takes place over the course of three days. So my characters have a very long night ahead of them.

The point of this little piece is that there’s plenty of resistance to sitting down and doing the work. But once you get through the first couple of hundred words, you re-enter the world of your story, and it gets easier.

So, on the days when you don’t want to, do it anyway.

On the days when the first hundred words seem to take a hundred hours, keep going.

And you’ll get there.

If you feel like you’re stuck, throw them a curve ball. Have something happen to them, have a character come in, one who doesn’t seem like it has anything to do with anything. And see how the characters respond. That will give you a lot of information, even if you end up cutting the scene in future drafts.

You’re not going for publication in this draft. You’re learning about your story and your theme. You’ll go back and polish in the drafts – and there will be more than one – you do when you’re done with this one.

Come Write In! at the Marstons Mills Public Library, 2160 Main Street, Marstons Mills.
Tuesdays 11-1 and Thursdays 2-4 during November.

Published in: on November 12, 2015 at 5:39 am  Comments Off on Nano 30 Tips for 30 Days: Day 12: Stuck  
