Thurs. Oct. 29, 2015: My Mother’s Birthday and Tandem Nano

Thursday, October 29, 2015
Waning Moon
Neptune Retrograde
Uranus Retrograde
Raining and warm

First and foremost, happy 91st birthday to my mom! I’m lucky that she’s still so on top of things and independent.

It’s kind of a nasty day out there, but at least it’s not Hurricane Sandy, like it was a few years ago on her birthday!

Yesterday was busy at work. I wrote an article wrapping up the photography contest and tried to write a snappy press release for the upcoming craft fair. Books came in, but I didn’t have a chance to process them. I’m still getting things situated for Nano, and doing all the other things that come up in the job.

I’m not having as much fun on the Nano forums as I usually do. I used to love spending time on them. But I don’t have much that’s useful to say, and, frankly, most of the inexperienced writers come across as dis-interested in learning from experienced writers. They’d rather whine or give out lousy information (with no credits to back it up) or try to sound like something out of a chick lit novel, which often winds up sounding desperate rather than cute. Granted, I haven’t read every post in every thread, so the above is just what I’ve run into. But it makes me tired, and doesn’t help my own writing (I dis-engaged myself from a group recently just to avoid the same sorts of non-conversations that I found detrimental to my writing). I’m having fun with my region, and I just won’t spend much time on the forums. I’ll check in to post word counts, but that’s it.

I decided I’m going to do a Tandem Nano this year. Either it will work, or it won’t. 50-50 chance. As a “Nano Rebel” – I’m going to keep working on TIE-CUTTER, trying to write about 1K a day, which seems its natural pace.

I’m also going to give the mystery that popped into my head a chance as a “Classic Nano”. The tentative title is DEATH OF A CHOLERIC, and we’ll see where it takes us. I will need to do between 7 and 10 pages a day in order to achieve the full Nano with that. It means writing between 11 and 14 pages up until Thanksgiving. I’m not sure if it’s possible, but I’m going to give it a shot. If it doesn’t work, I’ll know better.

I also decided that, since I’m not sleeping well lately and waking up in the middle of the night, that, if I do so during Nano, I will get up and write a few pages. Hopefully, my own writing won’t put me to sleep!

I haven’t written much the last few days. There’s been a lot of percolating, but I’m letting the writing build, so it can break like a dam at the start of Nano. We’ll see if THAT works, too! 😉

Today will be a long day, and then I’m cooking a special birthday dinner for my mother, and she’s got her favorite cake: cheesecake!

The Nano Prep post for the day, about working from character or plot, is below this one.

I had to go out early this morning to pick up my mother’s cake, and it was like driving through a monsoon. But I managed.

Have a wonderful day, all!

Devon

Published in: on October 29, 2015 at 8:31 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: , , , , ,

6 Comments

  1. Happy birthday to your Mum! Hope she has a cracking day 🙂

  2. Happy Birthday to your Mom and I wish you the best of luck with NaNo!

  3. I think the NaNo forums are interesting until you learn that only something like 15% of all NaNo entrants “win”, which means most people are on the forums blowing smoke.

    • Good way to look at it! 😉 I hadn’t realized it was such a small percentage. I know how frustrated I was with my group of mentees, since, in order to mentor them, I was taking time out of my own writing day. No matter how much they promised to stick with it, too many of them didn’t. Come on, people. It’s only a month! 😉


Comments are closed.

