Fri. Oct. 23, 2015: Nano and Ultron

Friday, October 23, 2015
Waxing Moon
Sunny and pleasant

Yesterday was a busy day. On the plus side, I got a lot of books and DVDs processed, and got things moving for the awards presentation for the photography contest tomorrow. There were plenty of minuses, too, which I won’t get into.

The first Nano Prep tip is up on the blog in the post below this one – it’s about using blogs and journals in your work.

My further Nano dilemma as to whether I should stay with TIE-CUTTER or start something new was made even more complicated when I came up with a fun title for the piece, the backstories of the characters fell into place, and plot pieces fell into place. I have a fun, contemporary mystery set to go.

I want to make sure, if I try working on both in tandem, that it’s not about ego, but about actually flowing with good work.

I also can’t blow the deadline for the play that’s due.

Either I can manage my time to handle all the projects, or I have to put off the projects that aren’t due.

There’s some other stuff going on that I’m trying to juggle, and I’m trying to line up some interesting career ducks. We will see what happens.

Watched AVENGERS: AGE OF ULTRON last night. Spoiler alert. I was disappointed. I liked it better than I expected to like it, but it still didn’t hit where I felt it should hit. There some funny throwaway lines and good short scenes between actors. The action sequences are too long. The whole thing about Hawkeye suddenly having this wife and kids and bringing everyone home to his “safe house” didn’t ring true, and his wife’s role was underwritten and too much 1950s housewife. I understand they were going for contrast, but it would have made more sense, in their universe, if they’d arrived and she’d EITHER have been, “Oh, honey, by the way, while you were destroying Johannesburg, the kids and I saved Cleveland” OR, if you really wanted to go homestead, have them have handled some major farm crisis while he was gone – gotten in the entire harvest in spite of a storm or an earthquake or something. Just having them there wasn’t enough. I liked the way the Black Widow was an accepted part of the family as his friend, and that his wife and kids obviously adored her, too. I was worried the creators would negate the bond that was established between Hawkeye and Black Widow in the first film. I missed Tom Hiddleston’s Loki – his scenes with everyone are such a delight, and he was missed. I didn’t feel the foundation was enough in the science before going off into speculation, and I felt the editing cuts were too abrupt in the actors’ scenes – even with the throwaway lines, the cut was just a beat too soon – and lingered too much on the destruction. I also missed both Jane and Pepper, even with the one-line explanations given for their absences. It didn’t live up to its potential, in my opinion. And the “bonus features”? First of all, there’s only one, and all it is a short piece where they jabber that it’s cool to work in locations all over the world and that makes the movie bigger. And. . .?

Woke up tired and cranky. Had bad dreams, never a good sign. Dashed to the store first thing to get what I need so I can bake tonight for tomorrow’s presentation.

Will have a long day at work today, and then four hours tomorrow (including the ceremony), and then away from that work for three days, while I concentrate on writing. And reading. And research! 😉

Have a wonderful weekend!

Devon

Published in: on October 23, 2015 at 8:59 am  Comments Off on Fri. Oct. 23, 2015: Nano and Ultron  
Tags: , , , ,
