Sat. Oct. 10, 2015: The Early Bird Gets the WorD

Saturday, October 10, 2015
Day Before Dark Moon
Neptune Retrograde
Uranus Retrograde
Sunny and pleasant

We had thunderstorms and rain last night. We took in some of the decorations, worried they’d get ruined.

I was up at 5 this morning, feeding the cats, doing yoga and meditation, and then writing. I had to research a bunch of details for the current scenes – which is fine, but it slowed me down. I couldn’t put in placeholders and come back after research, because the rhythm of the scene was dictated by said details.

On top of that, I’d left my Kindle bag at work last night – which had the phone charger in it!

But it all worked out.

Managed to get the recycling to the dump and start painting the pumpkins with the mirror paint. It will be interesting to see how they turn out. I also got the decoration back out and up.

I know I’m going to keep having the internal debate about Nano up until Nano’s first day. Between now and then, I’m going to work steadily on my deadlined work and see where I am by the end of the month.

One of the weird things about writing a contemporary piece is that I’m sometimes so deep into the world of the piece that I forget which details belong in my character’s life and which belong in mine. My character bought something a few scenes back – and I was looking for it this morning, as though I’D bought it! 😉 Not that I’m anywhere near as cool as my character – she’s got her challenges, but she’s also achieved some things I wish I had! However, those successes are part of what’s causing the dramatic conflict that drives this particular story.

Part of me is glad that tomorrow’s event is cancelled – mostly because I’d have an awful lot of work to do on it after work today and tomorrow would be a long day, and I’ve caught my colleague’s cold. I have plenty to do tomorrow, plenty of running around and stuff, but at least I’ll also be able to spend extra time in bed, have soup, and take care of myself.

Enjoy the holiday weekend!

Devon

Published in: on October 10, 2015 at 9:26 am  Comments Off on Sat. Oct. 10, 2015: The Early Bird Gets the WorD  
Tags: , ,
