Thurs. June 11, 2015: Working Away

Thursday, June 11, 2015
Waning Moon
Saturn Retrograde
Pluto Retrograde
Mercury DIRECT (as of this evening)
Sunny and warm

Rough day yesterday, on many fronts, none of which can be discussed publicly.

Managed to get about 1K done on BALTHAZAAR — after the wonderful, long writing days previously, getting so much more done, it felt like a shortfall, although there’s nothing wrong with keeping the steady, 1K pace. There’s a lot to be said for it.

Watched the last part of NOSTROMO with the Masterpiece Book and Film Club. One of the members wondered if there would be a happy ending, and I reminded her that this was Joseph Conrad — he didn’t do happy endings! 😉

Losing patience with a young woman fluttering around who claims she wants to act on Broadway. At her age, I had a job as a crew person on rock and roll shows. She claims to be willing to do the work — so why isn’t she doing an internship with a summer theatre? Why is she talking about college courses in a major that’s not theatre? Because, of course, she likes the IDEA of being on Broadway, but can’t be bothered to do the work. She doesn’t have the dedication, or the passion. She wants result, without work. Not only that, it’s far more important to her to put herself forward as an expert on every topic brought up, instead of listening to those around her, having actual interactive conversations, and maybe learning something. I was certainly obnoxious in many ways when I earned my way to Broadway, but I also tried to learn as much as possible from those around me who have more experience than I do (I still try to do that). Not worth my time.

Doing my homework for strategic planning next week for the Marine Life Center.

Tired of feeling like I’ve been run over by a truck when I get back from work.

Reading Donald Hall’s memoir, UNPACKING THE BOXES.

Up early this morning, frosted the cupcakes, made the eggplant caviar for tonight’s author event. The next story about Viola, the protagonist from my story “Literal Revenge” (that went out at the end of April) is starting to spin in my head. I’d like to finish the one about Rae, the ex-con who works in a bakery on the overnight shift, though, first.

Trying to figure out the next sequence in BALTHAZAAR, so I can write it.

I have a meeting this morning, then headed to the library, where we’re short-staffed this afternoon, and then the author event. Tomorrow should be a reasonably straightforward day at work (famous last words), and then Saturday is my weekend “on”, before heading to Wellfleet for the tango intensive.

A young wild turkey tried to take a bath in the birdbath. Unfortunately, it’s not stone, it’s lightweight, and it all fell over. Poor thing. He wasn’t hurt, just embarrassed, and I had to get it upright and refill it this morning. Tessa watched, fascinated, from the upstairs window.

The tomatoes, bok choy, Brussel sprouts, red cabbage, borage, and other herbs are all doing well. I love using fresh herbs in my cooking.

Next week will be very busy, too, although the friend who was supposed to come and visit has postponed his trip.

Onward.

Devon

Published in: on June 11, 2015 at 12:14 pm  Comments (1)  

One Comment

  1. Devon, did you start your borage from seeds or did you have a plant? Hubby couldn’t find either seeds or a plant for my herb pot garden.


Comments are closed.

