Thurs. May 21, 2015: Trying to Sustain the Writing Rhythm

Thursday, May 21, 2015

Waxing Moon

Saturn Retrograde

Pluto Retrograde

Mercury Retrograde

Cloudy and cool

 

Yesterday was busy. The library is full of Mercury Retrograde – printer problems, VCR problems, etc. The Reference Committee meeting in the morning was fun. Came back to the library, and, between all of us, we got the VCR working so the Masterpiece Book and Film Club could watch the first section of NOSTROMO. Then, we set up for the Hats, Hats, Hats program in the evening, which was a lot of fun.

Got home after 8, exhausted. Read a bit of the latest NEW YORKER, but that was about it.

Had managed some good work on the new play yesterday morning, before leaving for the meeting, and got some work done on the one-hour pilot set in Acadia this morning. I’m trying to keep the morning writing on track, no matter what’s on the agenda for the day.

Today will be busy, as we are shorter staffed than usual, and then there’s a Tango Milonga tonight.

Tomorrow and Saturday will be busy at the library, but Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday and I’m doing a writer’s intensive so that I finish the play and get a good portion of the pilot done. I’m at the stage of work in the play where I’m second-guessing myself, and, what I have to do, is trust the momentum to finish the draft, then rip it apart early in the week and rewrite it for submission at the end of the week – a much more truncated process than I like, but that’s the way it goes sometimes.

Stuff stacked on my desk while I was gone to the rafters. Since I won’t have any uninterrupted work time in the near future – and that’s the ONLY way to get cataloging done – not sure how long it will take me to get it all done.

Devon

Published in: on May 21, 2015 at 7:41 am  Comments Off on Thurs. May 21, 2015: Trying to Sustain the Writing Rhythm  
