Fri. April 10, 2015: One Year Work-a-Versary

Friday, April 10, 2015
Waning Moon
Saturn Retrograde
Rainy and raw

I was wiped out by the end of the day, but I went home and went to Tango anyway. I was all getting my legs tangled – not my most graceful night, by a long shot. It’s also interesting how my previous dance training works against me here. One of my strengths as a dancer was always that I picked up combinations and routines quickly. However, tango is about responding to one’s partner in the moment. When I don’t understand what my partner is trying to get me to do (which is more often than I’d like), I get into trouble. Also, when I learn steps as a combination or a sequence, I get ahead of my partner, and it may not be what my partner has in mind. With some leaders, I can just relax and follow – even if I don’t get every step, we can usually adjust. With others, it becomes a battle for control. It’s an interesting journey.

Went home early and crashed. Just too tired to even think straight.

Up at 5:30 this morning, out of the house a little after 7:30, realized that, somewhere in all this pothole mess in the streets, I’ve lost a hubcab.

Cape Cod Chamber Breakfast this morning, at Gourmet Brunch in Hyannis. Met some really nice people, and I think the Chamber will be a big help promoting our events; I also think we can support other Chamber members by hosting programs about what they do.

So, all in all, it was good.

Today is my one year anniversary in this job. It went by quickly.

Tonight, The Atlantic Paranormal Society is doing a program with us, and tomorrow, Moments in Time Dance will be here, doing early Downton-era dance. It will be fun. But today is a darn long day (I’ll be lucky to be home by 10 PM), and tomorrow is another long day.

I want to sleep in on Sunday, but there’s an event in Falmouth that looks like fun.

Sigh.

Devon

Published in: on April 10, 2015 at 10:18 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

2 Comments

  1. There are good leaders in dance and not so good leaders. Having taken ballroom dancing as a teen, I learned this early. Years later Hubby and I signed up for dance lessons at the local high school. Didn’t work out. He didn’t understand the concept of leading and it was a battle between us on the dance floor. I love to dance, but the lessons just didn’t work out with us. LOL Glad you are having fun with your Tango. Keep it up.

  2. You’re making me want to take dance lessons with my husband. Neither of us really dance, so it would be interesting. (I took ballet and tap as a child. I also dance in zumba, but am pretty sure that doesn’t count!) Comgratulations on a year at your job! Blessings for a nice week.


Comments are closed.

