Thurs. April 9: Life Sorting

Thursday, April 9, 2015
Waning Moon
Saturn Retrograde
Rainy and cold

Yesterday was a busy, but good day at the library. Got a lot of nuts-and-bolts work done in the morning and brainstorming work in the afternoon.

With my relative’s death overseas, not only am I dealing with the paperwork in a foreign language, but, because she was the widow of another relative who was an artist (who died a year ago), there are further layers. It will take some sorting out, especially since I’m not sure exactly what’s expected of me. So I’ve got a few months of a learning curve.

Came home, exhausted. Ate, got some work done, watched GRANTCHESTER, went to bed early.

I was up before 5 AM this morning, baking for Saturday’s program. By 7, I was ready to go back to bed.

No such luck, though, I’ll be going until about 10 or 11 tonight.

The second story I need to write for the month-end deadline is almost ready for the page. Another story idea popped up early this morning, but, as I’m sorting through it, I realize it’s a novel-length idea. Trying to fit it into 5K will strip it of a great deal of what will make it work for the reader – the character’s journey through the plot obstacles. The premise won’t work for the form – it’s not a “lift the veil on a moment of change” piece, which is what a short story needs to be. It’s “here’s a catalyst and look at the journey” piece.

I have to manage my time very well over the next few days, because there’s a lot competing for my attention, and a lot I need to complete.

Devon

Published in: on April 9, 2015 at 8:31 am  Comments Off on Thurs. April 9: Life Sorting  
Tags: ,
