Sat. March 28, 2105: After Effects of World Theatre Day

Saturday, March 28, 2015
Waxing Moon
Jupiter Retrograde
Saturn Retrograde
Rainy and cold

At least it’s not snow – yet! Modified to, it started snowing as I wrote this!

Yesterday was a day that was both exhilarating and exhausting. It was busy at work.

Plus, it was World Theatre Day. Few places in the US did anything for it – at least as far as I know. I had the radio plays running all day – people came in to listen to them, and enjoyed them. One person even admitted that he was named for a lead character in one of the old radio shows!

I got quite a few emails from people and theatre in the international community, which was great. Although a lot of them were in French. I took French in school. I can read it. I comprehend most of what’s said to me. But I have trouble speaking it – I’m not fluent. At least it was email, so I could take my time and look things up. Hopefully, I didn’t make too many mistakes! But it was fun to have so many people so excited about theatre’s importance and impact on the world. It’s not regarded as highly in the US as it is elsewhere; nor are writers and the power of words given the same respect in the US as elsewhere. So it was wonderful and intense all at once. I just wasn’t quite expecting it!

I did a Skype talk in the evening with a group that was doing a 24 hour marathon of readings and talks. That was fun. I had an interpreter, thank goodness, because, with my poor French, I would have said something inappropriate!

Later, to decompress, I started watching the first season of an Australian TV series called MISS FISHER’S MURDER MYSTERIES, set in Melbourne in the 1920s. I liked it a LOT – Essie Davis, Nathan Page, and Hugo Johnstone-Burt are outstanding. They’re very clever, and the costumes! Marion Bryce is my hero!

This morning, I’m tired. I feel like I’m out of words. Had to go out to the store early to pick up some things and put gas in the car. Did some rewrites on the Prague section of COLLABORATIVE BIRTH.

Library this morning, then home (with a quick stop at the wine store). Then, it’s an intense weekend of writing and research.

Devon

5 Comments

  1. Suppose global gate ditched summer for a repeat winter.

  2. My sister watches the Miss Fischer Mysteries. She loves them. Something else is on that I watch at that time so I never get to see them. No snow here, but it did get cold again. Hoping by next week see spring.

    • It’s on DVD now. I’m getting it through the library, and it’s well worth it.

  3. I had no idea there was a World Theater Day. I’ve heard of the Miss Fischer mystery series. Will have to give it a try. Blessings for a good week.

    • I came across both World Theatre Day and MISS FISHER by accident — but I’m awfully glad I did!


Comments are closed.

