Fri. March 6, 2015: Recovering from Yet Another Foot of Snow

Friday, March 6, 2015
Last Day of Full Moon
Jupiter Retrograde
Sunny and cold

Went home Wednesday night, tired, but looking forward to more WEST WING and dreading the snow.

Woke up to quite a bit of snow on Thursday morning. The library was closed, thank goodness, and Tango cancelled. It snowed all day long. We got another foot.

On the one hand, we’re all so sick of snow, we could hardly stand it.

On the positive side, it meant I could work on the book. I did 178 pages of serious revisions, and finished the first book of the serial, behind-the-scenes novel. 366 pages total on this draft, with Book 1 now being called INSPIRED INCUBATION (yeah, that title will probably be changed).

Overnight, Wednesday into Thursday, I’d come up with ideas for the revision, and I was grateful to be able to implement them. I hadn’t planned on completing the draft of the whole book, but I was on a roll. I kept saying, “Oh, just one more chapter” and then I was out of chapters.

The arcs are stronger, the anecdotes funnier. There are times when the POV is close, and times when it’s a little farther, where it feels as though the camera is filming the process. I tried to stay away from head-hopping, just, in some scenes, keep the focus tighter, and some broader. Hopefully, it works.

Since the novels in this series don’t really stand alone, I want to finish them and then submit them all at once. I still have to position myself and get a few more credits under my belt so that I can fulfill my vision of these books. Revising them along traditional lines won’t work, nor would letting a lot of time elapse in between books. They need to be read as a piece. Basically, it’s one long novel, broken down into manageable bits. Few publishers would be willing to take the risk. When all the novels are prepped, we’ll see where I am and what my options are.

More WEST WING Season 6 last night.

Up early this morning. Shoveled. The library is opening at noon, which gives everyone a chance to dig out and catch breaths. The snow piles at the end of my driveway are as tall as I am, and the level of the snow tunnels along the driveway are chest high.

I need to update my tracking sheets for the serial novel, to make sure I’m all caught up. I’m going to let this draft rest, and work on both the radio play LIGHT BEHIND THE EYES this weekend and BALTHAZAAR.

I hope to get some work done on the microfilm reels this coming week. I have both Saturday and Sunday off, so I want to write a lot, and then research Monday and run errands, get myself together for the week on Tuesday.

Hope you are all safe and warm.

If I could figure out a way to melt the snow and store it, I wouldn’t have to use the garden hose all summer.

The ebooks I’m judging for the Indie Next Generation Contest are starting to come in. The print copies will arrive when the UPS truck can actually drive up my street, poor things. I’m also supposed to get an Amazon delivery today, but I’d be very surprised if they could get through.

Devon

Published in: on March 6, 2015 at 12:32 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , ,

2 Comments

  1. I’m hoping that as we’re getting warmer weather this week- so are you! Is it a regular thing for an author to finish all books in a series before selling them? Just curious, no offense I tended. Best wishes for a nice week!

  2. Hope you’re having a lovely birthday, hon! Stay warm and think Spring!


Comments are closed.

