Wed. Nov. 5, 2014: This and That and a Good Review

Wednesday, November 05, 2014
Waxing Moon
Cloudy and cold

Busy few days. It was nice to actually have some time off this weekend. I desparately needed it. I had to excommunicate someone from my universe, but that’s the way it goes, sometimes. Toxic people need to go.

I got a lot done around the house this weekend, read a lot, wrote quite a bit, but never enough. It never IS enough, no matter how much is written. Worked on student work. Made some plans. Put away the Samhain decorations, curtains, etc., and put up the winter curtains.

On Saturday, we went grocery shopping. When we came back, the house was cold and smelled of gas. I called the heating people, and they sent someone out. The ignitor switch failed and had to be replaced; he had the new part in his truck, thank goodness. So we had heat before the snowstorm hit.

Yup, on Sunday, there was snow. Tucked in and read and wrote all day. Needed the break.

Monday, I was up at 4:30 in the morning and on the road by 6. Headed to Worcester, for the annual meeting for the state library system. It was a good day. Great people, good program. Glad I went. It’s wonderful to meet and talk with colleagues – see how everyone handles challenges, the unique challenges each library faces, etc. Definitely time well spent.

Came home, worked. Yesterday, worked all day on various projects, ran errands, trying to get out some submissions. There’s some unpleasant stuff going on that has to be dealt with. It makes me unhappy, but, even beyond that, it makes me sad. I don’t like people who are two-faced and hypocritical. When someone pretends to be one thing and reveals the true self – always better to know sooner than later, but still . . .but, that’s life. Know a lot of people. Have a few friends.

Got a nice review of “Lake Justice”. Both reviews have marked on the shortness of the piece. That WAS the point – that these are short pieces. They’re clearly marked as shorts, so I’m not sure where the confusion comes in. I am, however, gratified that people want more.

Lots of writing to do this week and weekend. Onward!

Devon

Published in: on November 5, 2014 at 1:10 pm  Comments (2)  

2 Comments

  1. I’m sorry to hear you’re having a hard time with someone(s). Sending peace and blessings.

    • Thank you. Your good wishes always help.


Comments are closed.

