Thurs. Oct. 9, 2014: Running (0n empty) on Multiple Rails

Thursday, October 9, 2014
Waning Moon
Mercury Retrograde
Cold

Busy day at the library, but a good one. I got some new records created, and new books on the shelves, which is always good. And some new DVDs, which had quite a few holds on them.

The afternoon was about the Cozy Mystery Book Group. We’d read Juliet Blackwell’s SECONDHAND SPIRITS, and all really liked it. Juliet was kind enough to write an essay just for the group, and we were all delighted with it. I’ll have to email her and thank her today. And we had cupcakes (the cupcakes I made the previous day). Because everything is more fun with a cupcake.

Home, dinner, read THE LEGEND OF SLEEPY HARLOW, a cozy mystery by Kylie Logan that I bought for the library. It was fun – I think our patrons will enjoy it.

Started reading an arc of a romance novel I considered buying for the library – but it was pretty clear within ten pages that no way would I spend my own or anyone else’s money on it. She set the story in Scotland. It’s obvious she never set foot in Scotland or talked to anyone Scottish, and her only research was in other romance novels by authors who never set foot in Scotland. Besides, her characters sound like they’re from Brooklyn, not Scotland. There’s nothing wrong with sounding like you’re from Brooklyn if you are or want to pretend you are. But if you’re supposedly in the 1880s in the highlands of Scotland and not a time traveler . . .I just can’t respect someone who can’t be bothered to research. It was obvious that the flaws in the book were laziness, this idea that “it’s fiction, I can do whatever I want.” Yes, YOU can, but if you don’t have the least respect for me as a reader (not to mention that I’ve spent a lot of time in Scotland and love it dearly), I am not going to spend money on it.

The new piece is percolating. It took me awhile to settle on names for the characters, but they have now told me (in no uncertain terms) what their names are. Naming a character is such an intimate experience, and the name has so much meaning. I’m always shocked when I read on social media people wanting other people to choose character names in a story. If I’m the writer, I need to be the one choosing the name (or at least, my subconscious in the form the characters telling me what they are). It’s one thing to name a character inspired by a particular individual – it’s quite another to let random strangers choose character names. To me, that’s an invasion of something sacred between writer and character. The first sequence is almost ready to be written, and the title announced itself as well (which affected which notebook I’m using).

Having trouble choreographing the fight sequence for INITIATE. Didn’t get very far today – Aidan, my protagonist, had an epiphany, which took up the paragraphs I’d originally meant to start the fight. It will work, it adds a layer, but I need to get into the nitty gritty of the fight. And, of course, one of the characters on the other side of the fight has a more complicated agenda than I wanted.

Came in to work early (a little after 8), so that I could catch up on all the books that couldn’t be checked in with the system down yesterday, get the paging list done, and the books out to where patrons want and need them. The volunteers came in, as scheduled, at 9, and we got everything done before opening at 10. I still have to hand-enter the checkouts that were done yesterday, but at least we’re caught up, and everything is backdated so no one gets fined.

Still psychically exhausted from the weekend, although I ate pretzels last night (bread and salt), which helped somewhat.

Need to finish some student work tonight and get a good start on the fight sequence in INITIATE.

Devon

Published in: on October 9, 2014 at 9:30 am  Comments (2)  

2 Comments

  1. I loved what your said about writer’s naming their characters and I totally agree. I’ve answered social media when authors have asked, not sure I’d do that again now. I rarely name a character that doesn’t work. I think I’ve had to change maybe two or three names in all the work I’ve done over the years. Usually the character tells me his or her name so it works for them.

    Another great post.

    • Yup. It’s too important an aspect of the story to let strangers handle it, and I won’t name someone else’s characters.


Comments are closed.

