Thurs. Sept. 4, 2014: Exhaustion on Many Levels

Thursday, September 04, 2014
Waxing Moon
Uranus Retrograde
Sunny and cool

Busy day at the library yesterday, but good. I got books on shelves; I ordered some cool DVDs; I did a display on Peter Capaldi-Benedict Cumberbatch-Dr.Who-Sherlock. Caught up on emails. Got through some paperwork. Spent some time on the Circ desk. Made sure that the next month’s choice of book is ready for the Muffins, Mittens, and Murder Cozy Mystery Club. Helped do some cleaning and rearranging in the office. Worked on some program stuff.

So many changes have been going on over the past few months, and so many more are coming up in the next months that I’m exhausted – as much mentally and spiritually as physically. I need some time off, and I need to build some time off into my days away from the library. Part of it has to do with the writing schedule – the days I’m working out of the house, I need to maintain the 1K-in-the-morning pace, but the days I’m working at home, I need to spend between 5 and 8 hours or more writing.

The best way to do that is to be offline from Saturday through Tuesday, with the occasional peak at email on some Saturdays, or, if I’m traveling or have meetings on those days. But, for the most part, for the next couple of months, I will be offline Saturday through Tuesday. And don’t call me, because I don’t answer the phone anyway! 😉 I need that time and space to be protected in order to create, so that on the days I have to interact with others in a work environment, I can do so happily.

That means I may not blog often on Mondays and Tuesdays for the next few months. Sometimes I will; sometimes I won’t. Eventually, I’ll get back to the five-day-a-week blog schedule, but right now, I need to unravel a few things, make some decisions that can only be made if I have the mental space and quiet to do them. I also need to ferociously protect my writing time.

In the late afternoon, the CCWC Executive Board met, and, after that, the full Board, debriefing from the Conference, setting dates for next year, and moving forward on some other issues. It was after 8 by the time we were done.

Home. Read a bit. Tumbled into bed. Had a fretful night. So did the coyotes. Didn’t get much done on INITIATE this morning. I’m moving into a complex sequence and have to create a back-and-forth of conflicting tarot reading spreads for it. That will need time and planning.

I expect a busy day here at the library today, and already look forward to going home and going to bed!

Devon

Published in: on September 4, 2014 at 8:21 am  Comments (1)  

One Comment

  1. Perfectly understandable in taking days off from the blog. I hope you get the rest you need.


Comments are closed.

