Fri. Aug. 15, 2014: Levelling Out

Friday, August 15, 2014
Waning Moon
Uranus Retrograde
Sunny and pleasant

Hopefully, this will actually POST today. Don’t know what’s up with WordPress lately.

Yesterday, I didn’t get a chance to work on INITIATE, and it threw off my internal rhythm for the whole day. I was frustrated and out of sorts. But Wed. had been a rough and bad weather day, and I overslept on Thursday, and it was just all a muddle.

Yesterday was a better day, although off to a rocky start. I was out of coffee at home, the milk turned sour, I missed the turn to my usual Dunkin Donuts. I went to a different one, where I had to wait 20 minutes for a simple cup of coffee with milk AFTER I’d paid, because they made the fancy coffees for the patrons behind me and kept pushing my cup to the side. No, they weren’t making a fresh pot. A simple cup of coffee wasn’t worth bothering about. Won’t be going back to that one.

I’m excited to go to an Historical Writers Retreat in Woodstock, CT in early October, run by a friend I met at NECRWA this past spring. That should be tons of fun. I’m so excited.

I’m also delighted to announce that I will be leading the discussion at the Marstons Mills Public Library’s first meeting of their new cozy mystery club, called Muffins, Mittens, and Murder. The book choice is Amanda Cooper’s TEMPEST IN A TEAPOT, the first book in her new series, comparing it to the longer-running Laura Childs Teashop Mysteries. The first meeting is on Sept. 13 here at the library, at 12:30. I’ll be leading the first several months’ worth of discussions.

The writing on INITIATE is going well. I’m in the middle section, where the male protagonist is learning and growing – he’s had a big turning point, and these chapters prepare him for the next big turning point and the black moment. The research for BALTHAZAAR is also going well, and I hope to get into the serious writing of that again post-Mermaid Ball.

Yup, the Mermaid Ball is NEXT FRIDAY! If you can’t come in person, I hope you’ll consider making a donation, so we can continue caring for the lovely Belmont, Barclay, Rose, and Mary Arnold, and the new seals and turtles that are coming in. Information here.

Have a great weekend, people!

Devon

Published in: on August 15, 2014 at 8:39 am  Comments Off on Fri. Aug. 15, 2014: Levelling Out  
