Wed. July 16, 2014: Trying to Prioritize

Wednesday, July 16, 2014
Waning Moon
Saturn Retrograde
Rainy and humid

The last few days have been so humid. I keep wanting to cut sections of air out, wring them dry, and put them back in. Might work in a fantasy novel, but not here!

Yesterday, I did some running around, and got the galleys back to my editor for “Elusive Prayers”, caught up on email, got some reading/research done. A little writing, not much. I want to tweak what I did on POWER OF WORDS, and I need to do a writer’s rough outline of both BALTHAZAAR TREASURE and DARK ANNIE’S SECRET before I can go much further on them. I’d done a ton of research for BT, but I need to refresh myself on it, and research Bermuda for DARK ANNIE.

Early dinner, and then to the library. They’d already done most of the set up for the Elisabeth Elo event; by the time I got there, it was mostly about the food, etc.

Her presentation was WONDERFUL, and it was nice that Tuesday book group was there and had read the book, so she was talking to an audience mostly familiar with the material. I liked so much of what she had to say, especially about the process of it and how the book came together. She and her husband are both lovely people, in addition to the quality of her writing being so high.

She signed a copy of the book for me — I still love that.

Helped with the clean up, came home, unwound a bit. Big thunderstorm in the night, which has helped cool down and make the air more breathable. Long day at the library today — lots came in on my days away.

I’m trying to sit down with the writing projects and prioritize. I need to figure out what to do when, and then also make sure there’s enough time built in for whichever one pulls the hardest, no matter where it is in the schedule. That way, I know what to work on as my first 1K of the day, and what to do in the evening writing sessions I’m going to have to build in to my day. I hate writing at night, but it’s the only way to get everything done.

I need to decide, this week, what I’m taking at the Conference, and whether or not I want to attend the banquet.

I’ve got some other changes looming on the horizon, some which won’t be easy to make, but necessary. There’s too much trying to interfere with the writing right now, and some of it has to be cut back, especially when it doesn’t support the writing.

Devon

Published in: on July 16, 2014 at 7:38 am  Comments Off on Wed. July 16, 2014: Trying to Prioritize  
Tags: , , ,
