Wed. June 11, 2014: Backsliding Health & Joining the Dark Side

Wednesday, June 11, 2014
Waxing Moon
Mercury Retrograde
Mars Retrograde
Saturn Retrograde
Cloudy and humid

I am still sick. I’m not falling over all the time, but things are still not great in the old GI track. I’m pretty miserable. I need to eat, in order to heal and keep up my strength, but it’s awful when I do. Plus, now I have “the headache” that comes along with stomach issues, and is usually worse than the stomach issues in some ways, but I can’t take anything for it, because anything I take upsets my stomach even more. I had an absolutely miserable night last night, which means I’m not in great shape for today.

Yesterday, I finished both episodes due this week, and sent off the one due yesterday. I finalized a media kit I’ve been working on for a client for awhile, which has had its challenges, and I’ve gone as far as I can go with it, so we need to call it a day on that.

I went to Centerville Library to work for a couple of hours — since Comcast fucked me. Got everything done, and completely ran out of steam.

Soup for lunch, and in the afternoon, went over to the dark side and got a smart phone for myself and a cell phone for my mother. I HATE PHONES. I am not living at someone else’s convenience, and my writing CANNOT be interrupted by the phone. If the phone rings while I’m writing, it’s not an annoying interruption — I’ve lost the work. Period. It’s gone. I don’t get it back. The work is gone and my day is shot. From a single phone call. Therefore, it will still remain off most of the time, and is ONLY for family, friends, and emergencies.

Anyone who has legitimate business with me knows that I do not do business over the phone. If you want to do business with me, you email me or you send me something in writing via post. Anyone who calls for “business” therefore does not have legitimate business with me and can go fuck themselves. The few times I do agree to a SCHEDULED phone conversation (I do not accept unscheduled calls), I charge in fifteen minute increments, like a lawyer. 99.7% of all so-called “client” phone calls are a complete and utter waste of my time, and only consist of the client liking the sound of his own voice. Therefore, he can pay me for it.

I resent that I have been forced into this. Once I’m a few months in, I will see if this plan works, or if I need to change to something else. My mom’s phone is very much like her last phone, but with a different company than the previous ones. She feels more secure with a cell phone, and that’s important.

On the positive side, I watched one of the best movies I’ve seen in years last night. It’s called LIBERAL ARTS, by writer/director/star Josh Radnor. The acting and the writing were superb. It was funny, it was smart, it was surprising. There were times when it could have fallen into cliché and did not. I just loved it. One of the best things I’ve seen in years.

I’m going to attempt to go to work this morning, and see how far I get. I’ll stop at CVS to get some medication first. If this doesn’t clear up in the next day or so, I may have to call the doctor. And you know how much I hate going to the doctor.

One step at a time. That’s the best I can do. One step at a time.

Devon

Published in: on June 11, 2014 at 9:05 am  Comments Off on Wed. June 11, 2014: Backsliding Health & Joining the Dark Side  
Tags: , , , , , ,
