Thurs. April 3, 2014: Plays and Contests and Clients

Thursday, April 3, 2014
Waxing Moon
Mars Retrograde
Saturn Retrograde
Sunny and milder

If you can’t come to Cape Cod to see SEAL TIDES in person, I hope you’ll support the play anyway through our Indiegogo campaign here. You can help us for as little as $10, and each tier has specific benefits attached. The more we raise, the better for local marine life!

Tessa was a happy cat yesterday. We went out in the morning, with our coffee (well, my coffee; cats don’t drink coffee), and then again in the afternoon with a glass of wine (again, my wine; I don’t give alcohol to my animals). There’s a lot of work to be done in the yard in the upcoming weeks, and I’m just going to have to break it down and do a finite amount on each nice day.

Worked flat out on client projects all day. Am in good shape with the contest entries, and I think I can wind up one contest before the entries for the next two come in. Worked with one of my editors. Negotiated some new project contracts, one of which will be amazing if we get past the trial stage. Got out a bunch of press, calendar listings, and PSAs for SEAL TIDES.

Did the quarterly follow-ups from the January pitches/LOIs. Always nice to remind people one is still interested in working with them, especially when it’s true. (The LOIs about which I had second thoughts were not followed up).

Difference of opinion with a potential client who said I was too expensive, so I booked other client work, and then this one tried to dump an “emergency” project on me at the end of the workday that would have meant working well into the night. Um, no.

Updated my website to clarify the rare instances in which I accept same-day or on-call assignments.

Today, I need to focus on client projects and my own work. I hope I can do an hour or so in the yard as well.

Time to get to work!

Devon

Published in: on April 3, 2014 at 7:52 am  Comments Off on Thurs. April 3, 2014: Plays and Contests and Clients  
Tags: , , , ,
