Wed. April 2, 2014: Cover Reveal and a Busy Month

tnLakeJustice

Wednesday, April 2, 2014
Waxing Moon
Mars Retrograde
Saturn Retrograde
Sunny and milder

You know what that is, above? My cover for the ghost story, “Lake Justice”, which will be released soon from Amber Quill Press. Isn’t it cool? The cover artist totally got what the story’s about. I’m a happy camper.

Well, yesterday was a challenge. Lots of good, hard work. Not a lot of pitches. Worked on client projects, am in negotiations for a big project that would be both fun and lucrative. Shook my head in dismay when someone wanted to hire me for a gig “immediately”, demanded an hourly (rather than a per-page) rate, and when I gave it, said it was too high (it was already under market rate for the technical type of work demanded). When I said sorry it didn’t work out and wished him well, I got an email screaming at me for not lowering the rate. Um, no. My rate is my rate, and I am not obligated to work for less because someone has a complicated project and doesn’t want to pay. If you don’t want to pay someone else fairly to do it for you, for their skills, then do it your damn self and shut the fuck up. Don’t yell at someone for not lowering their rate to suit you.

Did the media kit for “Lake Justice”, added it to my website, to the blog page “The Stories”, and created a new Facebook page for short fiction. I’m waiting for the edits and the release date, and then I can get going on promotion.

Worked on the media kit for my client; will do more of that today. The information I asked for is coming in, and I’m doing a rough layout, so I can then pop in the material.

Worked on contest entries; got the information on another contest I’m judging; heard from my editor about the next batch of books on the way; one of the props I need for the show shipped and I’m hoping it arrives before Friday’s rehearsal.

Will have a post up on the garden journal later today, and have to get to work on the gardening articles due by the end of the month, and the next post for the wine blog. Also, need to get some of my own writing done.

The editing intensive winds up this week, and I’m glad. April is a crazy busy month!

Devon

Published in: on April 2, 2014 at 8:11 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , ,

One Comment

  1. Love your book cover!


Comments are closed.

