Mon. March 24, 2014: Gearing Up for a Stressful Week

Monday, March 24, 2014
Waning Moon
Mars Retrograde
Saturn Retrograde
Sunny and cold

We are on yet another blizzard watch for tomorrow into Wednesday. So not looking forward to another foot of snow.

Busy weekend. Rehearsal for the show Friday night; we got some good beat-to-beat work done. Worked on the script over the weekend.

Did some great research on the ferry girls for the novel, including watching a documentary, which gave me more of an idea of the packs, the flight checks, etc. I have to do some tweaks on the pages I’ve done so far, but it’s all very exciting.

Spent most of the weekend working on contest entries. There were some really good ones, and some mediocre ones. Also did some work on the next book my editor sent me for review. Dragging my feet on it, because they’re late paying me and not giving me an explanation, which is unlike them.

I start a gig with a new client this morning that I’m really looking forward to, and will work with a returning client who is a pleasure as well this week.

I moved a potential new client meeting that was supposed to happen the morning of the blizzard back to later in the week, and should hear back on another gig by the end of the week. I’m debating whether or not to do a trial piece for a different gig — the rate is so far below my regular rate, but it’s regular work. I don’t think the time/money/work ratio will work out; at the same time, I’m wondering if I need it as a stop gap for a few months. I don’t want to take a gig out of fear and then resent it.

Only two more weeks with my editing students. They’ve fallen behind, so I hope they catch up.

I’m behind on BALTHAZAAR, but I’ll just have to make it up in May and June. April is going to be all about the play and a couple of freelance gigs looming on the horizon, and fitting in the ferry girl novel when I can, because that’s about researching a bit, writing a bit, researching a bit, writing a bit, and so forth. I’d like to have a first draft done by the end of summer (abnormally long time for me), but am not sure if that will happen. I also have some script work to finish up in the next three months.

Onward.

Devon

Published in: on March 24, 2014 at 8:05 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , ,

2 Comments

  1. I’m worn out just reading about it. 🙂

    It’s so easy to take a gig out of fear and end up resenting it. I’ve done that a couple of times. Never again. Good luck!

    • Thanks. I hate it when I dither.


Comments are closed.

