Tues. March 4, 2014: Good Clients are Gems; Bad Get Tossed Off

Tuesday, March 4, 2014
Waxing Moon
Jupiter Retrograde
Mars Retrograde
Saturn Retrograde
Sunny and cold

I know I worked yesterday, all day, but wound up feeling unsatisfied anyway.

Shoveled the snow — only a couple of inches, light and fluffy, not bad at all. Working my way through the contest materials. The first batch was innovative and well-edited. This next group of books, not so much. But this category is very competitive, so it’s good that I can weed some of them out early on.

Finished the next book my editor sent for review. Difficult material, beautifully done, but writing the review will be a challenge.

Interview questions out for an article, and my delightful subject already sent them back. This individual is truly lovely to work with, and I feel lucky that I landed the assignment.

Contract arrived for a gig starting mid-April (short one, until mid-May). Signed, and will pop in the mail today. Should be fun.

Worked on the play, did some plotting for BALTHAZAAR. Sent out some pitches. Dealt with some wearying demands from wanna-bes. I don’t jump through hoops — this is what I do, here are my credentials, here are my rates, these are the terms, this is the contract. Either you want to be a client, or you don’t. I’m not turning around a 100K edit in 24 hours for $20. Not happening. Even if you paid market rate (which is about 100 times that), I couldn’t turn around a 100K line edit in 24 hours and do a good job. If you don’t work with contracts or “believe in” deposits, we are not a good fit. Buh-bye. Sending me nasty, ranting emails demanding that I change my business to suit you isn’t going to work. Sometimes there’s room to negotiate, on certain projects with the right circumstances. But I charge professional fees and provide professional services. If that doesn’t fit with your “business model”, go hire a content-mill-level person and you’ll get content-mill-level service. Don’t tell me I “have to” work for less than my fees at an unreasonable turnaround time, because you “chose” me and I should feel “privileged”. That’s not how professional business relationships work.

If we’re a good fit, we will both feel the time/money/service ratio is fair, and we will feel “privileged” to work WITH EACH OTHER.

Lots of writing to get done today, so I better get to work.

Devon

Published in: on March 4, 2014 at 9:14 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , , ,

4 Comments

  1. I loved the movie Au Hasar Balthazar. Have you seen it? Just wondering if you’re mirroring that story in any fashion. It was based on a Dostoevsky book.

    • Haven’t seen the movie — will have to check it out. This is a sunken treasure tale, an archaeological mystery.

  2. Wow. It’s hard to believe people who try and portray themselves as professionals would harass you for turning down their demands. Best wishes for a good week.

    • Unfortunately, Brandy, it’s all too typical. Far too many people think “anyone” can write. They don’t want to put in the work themselves, they believe that those of us who make a living in the business “owe” them, and they don’t want to pay a professional rate for professional work. Many of these are people who flit from workshop to workshop, always bringing in the same material, but never actually learning and applying anything. They come in with a “gimme” attitude. Few of them have the talent to back it up.


Comments are closed.

