Wed. Feb. 26, 2014: Ready for Mercury Retrograde to Be Over!

Wednesday, February 26, 2014
Waning Moon
Jupiter Retrograde
Mercury Retrograde
Cloudy and cold

We’re supposed to get another storm today, but instead of 12 inches, it’s only supposed to be about 2.

New post up on Gratitude and Growth, about what’s surviving and what isn’t.

Worked yesterday, but wasn’t happy with the result, although I finished, reviewed, and sent off the review of the book I liked a lot to my editor.

Pitched for a part-time job that sounded like a ton of fun, but they are unwilling to have ANY flexibility in days or hours EVER, which simply doesn’t work for me. Oh, well. I can’t imagine that, as months and years go by, there’s never a day when something happens and someone can’t come in. That’s what they claim they need, though, so therefore, we are not a good match.

Mermaid Ball Meeting last night, and sorted things out for the play. I hope to get it finished today.

Excited to do some work on both the ferry girl novel and BALTHAZAAR TREASURE in the next few days.

Some of the stress may have lifted for the week, but I’m still trying to chase down payments, the typical dirge of a freelancer’s life. It just astonishes me how many people think writers and editors should be grateful to work on material for free or substandard fees, when they’d never expect a doctor, lawyer, or plumber to work that way. And, of course, those who are the most strident about not wanting to pay and the most paranoid that someone will “steal” their ideas are the ones with the weakest and most derivative material.

I am glad that Mercury goes direct on Friday. This has been a rough one.

Back to the page.

Devon

3 Comments

  1. Snow is coming down lightly here. So pretty, especially knowing that it’s not going to pile up again, bring down trees and power lines, and leave me stranded in a cold house. 🙂

    Sorry the PT stuff didn’t work out. I’m about to have a call concerning a remote position — like you, I know the terms have to be right. Otherwise, I’ll stay where I’m most happy. 🙂

    • I’m also not going to renege on commitments I’ve already made because a part-time position refuses any flexibility. When I make a commitment, I keep it!

      • Exactly! I was considering what to do if this gig works out, which it probably won’t. The office I’d have to visit is above Manhattan, which makes the drive about an hour longer than I can stomach.


Comments are closed.

