Fri. Jan. 10, 2014: More Meetings and Snow

Friday, January 10, 2014
Waxing Moon
Jupiter Retrograde
Snowing!

It’s supposed to be “flurries”, but it’s coming down pretty steadily.

I was under the weather yesterday, migraine and stomach problems. Pulled myself together for a fun meeting with a potential client in the morning. If that comes through, it will be an intriguing gig that would last for about a year or so, with highly, highly intelligent people, so that would be fun. We’ll see — either I fit what they want or I don’t. It depends if they can accept someone who is versatile, or if they want someone who only does what they do.

Tried to read a book with an interesting premise and wickedly manipulative protagonist, but it was written in the present tense, and was too frustrating. If I’m not paid to read it, I put down books written in the present tense, because I just LOATHE them. No, I am NOT there in the moment, and the use of present tense reminds me, verb by verb, that I am outside the story, not inside it. Where the fuck are the editors on these books? Why aren’t editors editing for structure that supports story anymore? Especially with debut novelists?

Read a different book instead, AN UNEXPECTED GUEST by Anne Korkeakivi, which I thoroughly enjoyed.

My stomach felt better as the day progressed, but the migraine did not let up and then I got sniffly. I don’t have time to be sick.

Another client meeting for Monday, this time with a potential client in Brockton, so I have to make the hour drive there and back. Good for me to go over the bridge occasionally!

Busy day and busy weekend — because I have meetings EVERY day next week, and I have a lot to get done. I have to write the synopses for four scripts this weekend, and finish a longish short story.

Back to the page. Have a great weekend!

Devon

Published in: on January 10, 2014 at 8:10 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , ,

One Comment

  1. Glad the stomach issues cleared up. Good luck with the client meetings! I suspect if they’re contacting you, they’re already intelligent enough to want your versatility. 🙂


Comments are closed.

