Fri. Dec. 6, 2013: Slick Marketing Over Platitudes

Friday, December 6, 2013
Waxing Moon
Jupiter Retrograde
Cloudy and cold

Yup, we’re definitely in winter.

Yesterday was a weird day. I was at a day-long conference, as a guest of someone. It was like being in the middle of a cult experience. It was supposed to be inspiring and empowering, but all I heard were slick platitudes without any actual information. Yet people around me lapped it up. It was well-marketed, but it was all style without any substance behind it.

I would up being on Facebook and doing other things most of the day (thank goodness I brought the laptop).

I came home feeling like I needed a shower, and very, very discouraged about EVERYTHING.

Yes, I admit it. I watched the live broadcast of SOUND OF MUSIC last night. How could I not, when it was such an interesting mix of theatre and broadcast, along the lines of the way television was done early on? I am NOT a Carrie Underwood fan at all. I have to hand it to her — she sang it well. But she can’t act, and every time that was necessary, it was wooden and unconvincing. The rest of the cast had stage experience, and it showed. Overall, I thought it was well done, and enjoyed it. It was a nice interlude, something different.

Very stressed out right now, with no relief in sight. I’m trying to take the actions needed to change the situation, but am met with blocks everywhere I turn.

Tomorrow is the Organize Your Writing Life Seminar. Should be tons of fun. You can still sign up until 5 PM tonight here.

Have a great weekend,

Devon

Published in: on December 6, 2013 at 6:51 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , ,

One Comment

  1. I can almost guess the seminar you attended. Not long ago, I attended one that created a similar convulsive reaction in me. They were selling snake-oil self-help fixes that were just plain common sense. Some people love paying for someone to state the obvious, I guess.

    New moon week — perhaps a good time to shed that nastiness and find your balance again?


Comments are closed.

