Thurs. Nov. 7, 2013: The Good Will Outstrip the Ugly

Thursday, November 7, 2013
Waxing Moon
Mercury Retrograde
Jupiter Retrograde
Rainy and cold

In an absolute fury with the soon-to-be-ex-client’s latest round of berating and belittlement. It is simply not acceptable. I want to be paid for the work I’ve done — especially since it pays for less than two hours’ worth of my time and has taken more than six weeks. I’m tempted to cut ties immediately, but know that then I won’t be paid, and hell, I should be getting combat pay for this one. I guarantee the article will be so gutted that I won’t even be able to use it as a clip.

Worked yesterday, on editing project, with students, did some pitches. Some guy tried the con on me “Oh, I want you to edit my book, but will you edit test pages before I commit?” No, because Im wise to that one — distributing test pages to multiple editors, telling us we didn’t get the job, and then getting your project edited for free. Not that stupid.

On a happier note, I am teaching an afternoon, organizational seminar on Saturday, December 7 on how to organize your writing life for 2014. It only costs $10, and the details are here. Hope to see a lot of you there.

Please note that payment is ONLY via Paypal. Don’t email me asking for other payment methods. Paypal only means just that.

Writers Center Board Meeting last night. Well-run, lots of work accomplished, and I was elected Secretary. So now I’m on two Boards of Directors, both organizations about which I am passionate.

Back to work today, trying to calm down and take the high road, which, at this point, is nearly impossible. One good thing about nightmare clients: they make you appreciate the good ones much more, and I’m lucky in my good ones. In fact, I’m going to send out a round of notes of appreciation.

Devon

Published in: on November 7, 2013 at 8:18 am  Comments (1)  

One Comment

  1. Is here no recourse against the evil client?i I’m sorry you’re have to go through all that with them.


Comments are closed.

