Mon. Nov. 4, 2013: Writing, THOR, & ROCKY HORROR

Monday, November 4, 2013
Waxing Moon
Mercury Retrograde
Sunny and cold

Busy weekend. Working on the project that I’m developing. Trying to type up the material for the first three chapters I did in the development notebook, but layering in the details so it makes sense. Amazing how much detail I need to HAVE in order to pick the right details.

Bad storms and high winds on Friday made it difficult to get things done in a timely manner, with power wonkiness and all, but I got out a project, eventually, and then had to school the so-called “editor” who questioned the correct punctuation usage. Honey, if you are actually an editor, you should either know it or have a shelf full of style guides to look it up. If you can’t do either one, you don’t belong in an editor’s chair. So glad to be done with that client. Lowest paying client, biggest pain in the ass, insults me on a regular basis — um, no. If you were paying me six figures, I might put up with some of your shit, but for these rates . . .no.

Lots of reading — I’m reading a best selling author’s interconnected novels to deconstruct them — and I watched, finally THOR. My response was, “that’s it?” Seriously, with all the hype, I expected so much more. Chris Hemsworth does his Chris Hemsworth thing (which he does very well), Tom Hiddleston is terrific, Jeremy Renner has a sequence-stealing cameo, but for the most part, I was disappointed. The first 45 minutes could have bee handled in 17, and given us more of the growing relationship between Thor and Jane. It happened too fast and there wasn’t enough there. Thor has his big realization too quickly without enough to back it up. I would have liked more character interactions and less fighting. The character interactions that were there were good (Kenneth Brannagh directed, of course they were), but the film, as a whole, was out of balance. There was a lack of development in too many of the supporting characters that made them far too interchangeable. I should know why someone is there by what they say and do, not have only the costume as the scorecard.

Saturday, I got some work done in the morning, and then, in the evening, met friends at Lindsey’s in Wareham for drinks, and on to see the husband of one friend in THE ROCKY HORROR PICTURE SHOW. The friend’s husband was very good, and there was a lot of good stuff in the piece, but it was also rather uneven, and the tech needed work. Scene changes too long and awkward, sound mix weak. The band, however, was great I’m glad I went, it was a fun night out.

Sunday, I stayed offline all day, which was wonderful. Did exactly what I wanted. And did home-and-hearth stuff like taking the garbage to the dump, taking the leaves to the dump, grocery shopping, taking down the Samhain decorations, and doing laundry.

Today, it’s back to work, on a variety of projects. Some errands, over to Osterville Library to do a drop off/pick up. It will be a busy week.

Devon

One Comment

  1. When will people understand that just because you are paid by them for contracted work they don’t have a right to insult you. Ugh. So sorry that happened. The Rocky Horror Picture Show sounded fun. I wish you good things for this week.


Comments are closed.

