Tues. Oct. 29, 2013: Developmental Process

Tuesday, October 29, 2013
Waning Moon
Mercury Retrograde
Cloudy and cold

Happy 89th birthday to my mom! She’s doing pretty well.

Today is also the year anniversary of Hurricane Sandy. We were lucky here; didn’t hit us too hard. The Nor’easter the following week was much worse.

I was spectacularly unproductive yesterday, although I managed to print out VISCERAL INVISIBLES and put it away to marinate for two weeks. Revision start Nov. 11.

I just couldn’t focus on anything. I could feel another idea formulating, but it was just out of my grasp. By the end of the day, I had a wonderful ensemble of characters, and I was in search of a plot. This ensemble is part of a series, so I’m sorting out book-specific arcs from character arcs that overreach several books. I’m calling it Gilded Age Steampunk, but I’m not sure if that’s what it’s going to stay.

Couldn’t find what I needed researching the internet, then realized I’ve written in that era before and have a whole bookcase full of research materials. Made much more sense to use the hard copies. This is why I keep all my research books — I wind up using them for years.

I’m going to have to write my way a few chapters in before I know what I’ve got, and one of the supporting characters in the beginning (who is supposed to move to a more central position on Book 3) is turning out to be one of the strongest characters in the piece.

And then I have to figure out how to slot it in with everything else that I’m juggling.

But it’s not a bad problem to have.

Devon

Published in: on October 29, 2013 at 7:10 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , ,

2 Comments

  1. A very happy birthday to your mom!

    Definitely not a bad problem to have. 🙂

  2. Happy birthday to your mum! 🙂


Comments are closed.

