Tues. Oct. 22, 2013: The Writing and Editing Carousel

Tuesday, October 22, 2013
Waning Moon
Mercury Retrograde
Sunny and cold
m

Good day yesterday. I completed two short editing projects and got them to the clients, a day early. Some payments came in from other work — checks that were delayed early in the month are now starting to come in, thank goodness.

I’m frustrated with the screenplay. I’m not happy with the logistics. I don’t feel there’s enough at stake to make it dramatic enough, and what I added in feels forced. The forcing I need to do now is to finish the draft and let it sit, and then go back to it and rip it apart. I love my central characters and how their relationship grows, but the situation seems artificial, and without it being organic, it will fail.

Frustrating.

Did a bunch of research for some projects in development. Got a good set of notes. I’ve got a huge stack of books to return to the library today, and more to pick up. Pitched for some other jobs. On the BCC back to myself (I always bcc myself on pitches), I realized there was a typo in the subject line, so I won’t be getting that one anytime soon. Carelessness like that is not excusable.

Waiting for another editing project that was supposed to arrive yesterday. It was like waiting for a pot to boil. Hopefully, it will arrive today, so I can sink my teeth into it. It’s a big project, and I want to get going.

Devon

Published in: on October 22, 2013 at 7:01 am  Comments Off on Tues. Oct. 22, 2013: The Writing and Editing Carousel  
Tags: , , , ,
