Mon. Sept. 30, 2013: Learning From the Best

Monday, September 30, 2013
Waning Moon
Cloudy and cool

Lots of writing this weekend. I did the pieces for Confidential Job #2 and sent them off; started work on the article for the new editor; worked on the short story for the anthology, worked on the grant proposal.

I also have an idea that formulating. It’s still a bit beyond my reach, like grabbing for mist. The more I work on it, the more I think it’s tied to another idea I’ve been playing with.

The short story is a lot of fun, but requires a huge amount of world-building. I mentioned that on social media and got a snarky message about how it’s not “worth” doing massive world-building for “just” a short story. Of course it is, if I want the story to work.

It’s set in a different world. That world needs to be created. What is normal for the characters has to feel normal, what causes the conflict has to be unique. All of it has to be rendered in a sensory manner to make it immediate for the reader.

And, the more I work on the world, the more I think it’s the same world as those two formulating ideas, although, at this point, I don’t see character cross-over.

Just want to take a moment to talk about the series finale of BREAKING BAD. It was thoroughly satisfying, while not pulling any punches. Vince Gilligan remained true to himself, true to his characters, and fulfilled the promise and the contract he had with his audience. People who want to write good television can learn a lot from this guy. I’m not giving any spoilers — go watch it for yourself. It’s worth it.

A lot to get done today, so I better get going!

Devon

Published in: on September 30, 2013 at 7:30 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , ,

2 Comments

  1. Thank you for not revealing anything about BB. We were attending collective meditation. One of the Indian monks was there and we didn’t want to miss him. Made it home after BB was over, so we’re intending a session tonight.

  2. I saw the comment on FB about setting (not sure if I posted a comment or not) and laughed that someone could be that stupid or maybe not a writer.

    For one contemporary short story “Terror on the Turnpike,” I rode the New Jersey Turnpike from Exit 11 to Exit 9 four or five times in both the car and the truck lanes. One to decide which fit my story better and second to learn every curve, dip, and straightaway. I needed my story to be perfect. Comment from the editor and readers was that they loved the NJ Turnpike as a character in the story. Yes, the NJ Turnpike was that important to the story and it was well worth the ride and the tolls to get it right and hear those wonderful comments.

    So yes, do all the research you need on setting to make your story better…definitely the way to go.


Comments are closed.

