Fri. Sept. 27, 2013: Weird Day

Friday, September 27, 2013
Waning Moon
Cloudy and cold

It’s definitely autumn.

Here’s information about the National Marine Life Center as a finalist in Toyota’s 100 Cars for Good program. We really, really, REALLY need to replace our marine life ambulance — this car would be a lifesaver. I’ll remind you on Oct. 7 to vote, but here’s the preliminary information.

Weird day yesterday. A project’s been cancelled, through no one’s fault, but just unfortunate circumstances getting in the way. It happens.

Started a short story yesterday for an anthology call, but need to do some research. Read a stack of short scripts and did notes on them. Had a negotiation on a project on which I had to sign a non-disclosure agreement, and will be henceforth called “Confidential Job #2”, should I land it. It sounds like a lot of fun. When I pitched, I thought it was a reach, but they got back to me right away, so who knows?

Worked with students, worked on the grant proposal and turning around a press release.

Not happy with any of my personal writing yesterday. Felt too scattered.

This morning, got out a press release. Did a little bit of work on Project D. Have to do some work on Confidential Job #2 for the next step.

It’s chilly, I have company coming in from the UK next week, and I think I’ll decorate for Samhain this weekend, a little early — because I can!

Oh, I meant to give my opinions of some of the new shows this week.

BLACKLIST: I enjoy James Spader’s work, but not sold on the rest of it. Chickie, supposedly a highly trained agent, lets the bad guy stab and torture her husband in front of her and cries, then stabs Red in the neck with a pen or stylus or whatever it was when he tells it like it is? Don’t buy it. Plus, I bet I know the “big secret” and I don’t yet care enough to be impressed. So I flipped over to:

HOSTAGES: great chemistry between Dylan McDermott and Toni Colette, but I suspect the creative team is messing with us to mess with us.

AGENTS OF SHIELD: an actor I loved working with on a TV show in NY was the guest star, and he rocked. I was so happy to see him in a fun role. I realize it was a guest spot, but I hope they bring him back. Like the humor, am willing to give it a few episodes to see how the chemistry develops.

REVOLUTION is back, and I was frustrated with the first episode. It works when the ensemble is together — it’s their moment-to-moment chemistry in scenes that stands out. When they’re split up, it’s simply irritating.

My two cents.

Have a great weekend.

2 Comments

  1. Good luck with confidential #2. Loved you comments on the TV shows. I have a couple on DVR to watch. Gave up on Revolution last season so that one’s out.

  2. I am excited for chilly weather here. I had no desire to watch Blacklist and you’ve made me glad for that decision. We watched Agents of Shield and really enjoyed it and the humor it contained.
    Best wishes for a good coming week.


Comments are closed.

