Wed. Sept. 25, 2013: Feels like a Monday

Wednesday, September 25, 2013
Waning Moon
Cloudy and cold

Whew! Monday, I hit the ground running, did as much as I could early, and then hit the road. I had to drive to CT.

Good drive, easy roads, but I was tired. Lovely day to drive, though.

I was not able to get online where I was; although I could have worked on other writing, I didn’t even turn on the computer. I needed the break.

Instead, I read a book by an old friend of mine, Janet Laurence, called A DEADLY INHERITANCE. I knew Janet years ago, in the UK, on the conference circle, and she was very kind to me when I went through a nasty break-up. We lost touch, and I’m delighted that she’s working on a new series and I can track her down and reconnect. She’s a terrific writer and a wonderful human being.

Drove back to the Cape yesterday. Another terrific day to drive, and it was pleasant. The cats were happy we were home. I just had time to unpack and eat, and then I had to leave for a meeting.

There were several meetings scheduled yesterday, but I attended the one for the organization I’m leaving. I resigned my position with the organization — I think they’re wonderful, but the schedules conflict too much with work, and with my work at both the Marine Life Center and the Writers Center. Also, since more of my work takes me out of town, I can’t commit to either their meeting schedule or their events. I’m sad to leave, but it was necessary for everyone’s well-being. I will help the new person transition in over the next couple of months.

I have to hit the ground running again today, and I’m preparing for a client meeting with the west coast. I don’t believe anything until the contract is signed and the check’s cleared, but the project sounds good.

My new editor just sent me an assignment that I’m very excited about, my other editor sent me notification that my next assignment shipped (which means it should arrive today), I’ve got articles to polish and books to write, not to mention work on the play.

Better get to it.

Feels like a Monday.

Devon

Published in: on September 25, 2013 at 6:18 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

One Comment

  1. Nice to have that break from technology, isn’t it? This past weekend I did what I could to avoid the cell phone. Didn’t work out so well, but I was glad for a lot more time spent with family.


Comments are closed.

