Thurs. Aug. 15, 2013: Writing Hangover

Thursday, August 15, 2013
Waxing Moon
Sunny and pleasant

Yesterday was an outstanding writing day, at least for the fantasy novel. Nearly 7K. I have one or two more chapters and this section is done. Then, I skip ahead in the chronology of the piece to what will be the final third of this middle volume, then it’s off to the last volume, which seems to come full circle to where the book started, but actually goes beyond.

It meant I didn’t get much else done, but the novel burned, and it’s at a delicate, critical stage, which means it had to take first priority, and everything else had to work around it.

Six loads of laundry in the new machines. Nice to catch up.

Add to that, a former flame/old friend showed up. Fortunately, he’s very supportive of the writing, and made sure I had the cocoon in which to work. He read the mystery novel that’s going out on submission and loves it; read the draft material of the fantasy novel and was thrilled with it. This is someone who always tells me when I’ve gone off the rails on a project, so it was nice to get the positive feedback.

Did some pick ups for the Mermaid Ball and some drop offs at the libraries. Headed to the meeting, but only stayed an hour. Mermaid Ball is sold out, and things are on track. I think it will be a lovely evening.

Came back to a great dinner cooked by my friend, and we caught up. I hadn’t seen him in five years, so there was quite a bit of catching up to do!

This morning, I have to get the work done that wasn’t done yesterday, and then head East to do more Mermaid Ball pick-ups. Also going to work on the tail for my costume.

I’m going to do some work on the novel, although I’m worried I’ll get caught up in it again and everything else will fall by the wayside. Next week, that can happen, but not this week. At the same time, I can’t risk losing the momentum. My friend is here until tomorrow, so we’ll have a good chance to catch up, and he’s good about letting me work when I need to.

I’ve refused several potential students for the upcoming private student slots. If they can’t follow the instructions on the application, they are certainly not going to survive the pace, intensity, and expectations of the program. My work with private students is not a service; it’s an apprenticeship program. You meet the standards, or you’re gone. I do not lower/change the requirements. You have to rise to them. Or you are refused. Every moment spent on student work is a moment not spent on my own. I only want to spend time with students who are serious and committed to their writing.

Moment by moment. Best I can do.

Devon

Published in: on August 15, 2013 at 8:29 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , ,

One Comment

  1. Productive day indeed! Had my own marathon session yesterday, and today will be no different.


Comments are closed.

