Mon. July 8, 2013: New Moon!

Monday, July 8, 2013
New Moon
Saturn Retrograde
Mercury Retrograde
Sunny and hot

Busy weekend. Wow! Do I even remember Fourth of July? I know on Wednesday, I started tackling the revisions on the book. I did 110 pages, but it felt like I didn’t do anything, and I’m not happy.

I also finished a major edit for a client, and accepted another editing job.

The Media Kit Seminar on Wednesday had to be cancelled because of a scheduling problem. All course fees have been refunded.

Instead, I’m doing a revision intensive for the first 10 pages, from July 12-15. We’ll nitpick to get that opening perfect, and then you can apply the same techniques to the rest of the book. Details here.

Cut myself a break on the 4th. Read a lot.

Got some other editing work done over the weekend, and responses from happy clients. Very pleased about that.

The corset arrived for the Mermaid Ball and it’s perfect. I’m so happy with it! Now I can get to work on the rest of the costume. I have to redesign the tail of the costume. It’s out of proportion and unwieldy. If I was going to BE a float, maybe. But as part of an overall costume — I need to wear the tail. The tail cannot wear me. Back to the drawing board. Better to find out now that the day of the Ball!

Read Juliet Blackwell’s TARNISHED AND TORN, and Kevin Hearne’s HUNTED. Enjoyed them both. Did my coursework for Archaeology and Climate Literacy. Did a photo shoot to go with the still room article that was accepted last week. Did laundry.

Started a mystery/fantasy hybrid that whomped me upside of the head. 17 handwritten pages yesterday — love it. I’d hoped it would only be 20 pages total, but it’s more likely 50. I can play with wonderful sensory detail, action, adventure, mystery, and sociological elements wrapped in fantasy. It’s a palate cleanser before going back to the revisions.

Must run some errands today, turn around another editing project, write a review, promote my workshop, work on the short story, and finish two articles. Hop to it, hop to it, right? At least it’s a little cooler today.

Devon

2 Comments

  1. This is going to probably be a silly question, but what color is your new corset? Best wishes for a good week!

  2. You know, sometimes reading your posts is like stepping into another dimension. Where else am I going to read “The corset arrived for the Mermaid Ball” today? Or ever? 🙂


Comments are closed.

