Tues. June 25, 2013: Typing Along

IMG_1360

Tuesday, June 25, 2013
Waning Moon
Saturn Retrograde
Sunny and warm

Mercury goes retrograde tomorrow. Ick. I better clear a lot off my desk today! 😉

Yesterday was all about the work — working with students, getting an article out, getting a new editing client set up, working on a new web page, getting some invoices out, taking a copyediting test for a potential new gig, and creating what I call the “Back Pocket Document” for my agent.

What’s a “Back Pocket Document?” That contains the loglines of the additional projects you’re ready to pitch when the agent or editor you’re pitching to says, “That’s not really what I’m looking for right now. What else have you got?”

Instead of looking like a fool and stuttering, you’re ready to go with other possibilities. Because agents and editors are looking for long-term investments, not one shot wonders, unless you’re a wonder along the lines of Harper Lee.

Dropped off some books at Centerville Library and picked up what they had for me; dropped off and picked up some books at Sturgis Library, wishing I’d brought work with me. It was nice and quiet, and I would have loved to tuck myself into a corner to work.

Today, I have to figure out why a mailing that I thought went through a few days ago didn’t, and make sure it gets out, order some stuff from Amazon, work with my new editing client, work on some stories, and start the next couple of articles. It looks like this afternoon’s meeting has been cancelled, which is great news.

OLD-FASHIONED DETECTIVE WORK is going into print sooner than expected, so I have to give the PDF another last look and make sure everything’s all good to go with that one.

I got a rejection on a novelette (which I was rather expecting — this market was a long shot), so I’m trying to figure out what to do with the piece. I love the piece, but it’s an odd length and a bit of slipstream, genre-wise. Unfortunately, it’s at the right length for this particular piece. Must figure out if I want to try to put it out on my own, or keep submitting.

Devon

2 Comments

  1. Thank you for explaining what a Back Pocket Document is, I have learned a lot about writing from you!

  2. How weird is it that I have one of those for my article ideas? I rarely send just one idea (unless it’s a new market). For the newer markets I’ll keep the other ideas handy until they say “not quite a fit” then they get the rest.


Comments are closed.

